Skip to content


Monash University was established in Melbourne, Australia in 1958.

We are a youthful organisation, enthusiastic, optimistic and accessible. We believe quality education and research can change the world for the better.


We offer a large number of courses across numerous disciplines.

At Monash you can choose from many study options including double degrees, part-time study, off-campus learning and alternative pathways.


Our researchers make highly significant contributions that bring real and positive change to the lives of people all over the world.

Student enrolments

Total student enrolments: 67,076
(Based on 2014 full-year data)

Student enrolments 2014
Total student enrolments 67,076
Gender 2014
Female 37,700
Male 29,376
Residency status 2014
Domestic 43,095
International 23,981
Attendance mode 2014
On-campus 56,559
Off-campus 5,672
Multi-modal 4,845
Course type 2014
Higher degree research 4,762
Postgraduate coursework 14,359
Undergraduate 47,068
Non-award 887
Enrolments by location 2014
Berwick 1,873
Caulfield 16,084
Clayton 31,265
Malaysia 6,789
Parkville 1,816
Peninsula 4,125
Sth Africa 2,720

Note: The Gippsland campus became part of Federation University Australia on 1 January 2014. Monash ceased making offers to new students, and has made arrangements with Federation University for teaching its continuing students.

Enrolments by faculty* 2014
Art, Design and Architecture 1,815
Arts 9,451
Business and Economics 16,967
Education 5,994
Engineering 6,409
Information Technology 3,132
Law 3,654
Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences 11,794
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences 2,008
Science 5,796
Other 56

*The managing faculty is the faculty responsible for managing individual courses. A student enrols through one particular faculty, but multiple teaching faculties may share the load.


Total number of staff (and full-time equivalent): 15695 (8383 FTE)#

#Malaysia, 765 (728 FTE) and South Africa, 234 (231 FTE).

Gender 2014
Female 8,462 (4,182)
Male 6,234 (3,242)
Classification 2014
Academic 6,961 (3,063)
General 7,735 (4,361)


University Planning and Statistics