Professor Gabor Kovacs AM

Image of Gabor Kovacs

Professor Gabor Kovacs AM (MBBS (Hons) 1971, MD 1995) is the   International Medical Director of Monash IVF.

He joined Monash IVF in 1978   and since then has established himself as a leading expert in IVF, ovulation   induction, donor Insemination, infertility surgery, male sub fertility,   contraception and sterilisation.

He has also played a critical role in advancing research – discoveries that   have resulted in new technologies being made available to   patients.

Professor Kovacs has retained connections with Monash   throughout his career and holds the position of professor of Obstetrics and   Gynaecology at the University.  He has been a teacher and mentor to both medical   students and young gynaecologists, while also contributing significantly to GP   education.

He frequently lectures   in Europe and Asia and has published more than 160 scientific papers. He has also written five books and   edited six textbooks.

Professor Kovacs has been President of The Fertility Society of Australia,   Family Planning Australia, Family Planning Victoria, and Chairman of The IVF   Directors' Group of Australia. He was also a Councillor of the College of   Obstetrics and Gynaecology for six years having chaired its Continuing Education   and Women's Health Committees. He is a director of ACCESS, Australia's national   infertility network.

Professor Kovacs is also an active and passionate spokesperson on ethical   issues surrounding fertility and family planning.

Professor Kovacs qualifications include the MBBS (Hons) and MD from Monash   University, FRCOG, FRANZCOG, CREI, FAICD and a Graduate Diploma in Management   from Macquarie University.

He was awarded a   Member of the Order of Australia in 2004 for ‘service to medicine in the fields   of gynaecology, obstetrics, family planning and in-vitro fertilisation through   research, specialist clinical services and education, and to the community.’

Monash University recognised him with a Distinguished Alumni Award in 2011.