Mr Teo Ming Kian

Teo Ming Kian

Mr Teo Ming Kian (BE(Mech)(Hons) 1975) is a government administrator and company director in Singapore.

He is the Permanent Secretary for National Research and Development in the Prime Minister’s Office and Advisor, Special Projects at the Ministry of Finance, having served as its Permanent Secretary from 2006 to 2009.

Mr Teo currently holds the following board memberships:

  • MediaCorp Group
  • Director of Temasek Holdings
  • Member of Singapore's National Research Foundation
  • Member of the Monetary Authority of Singapore
  • Director of Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship

Mr Teo was educated at Raffles Institution. He was awarded the Colombo Plan Scholarship to study at Monash University, graduating with First Class Honours in Mechanical Engineering in 1975.

In 1986 he gained a Master of Science in Management from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, US.

Mr Teo started work in the Singapore Ministry of Defence in 1975. He was appointed as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Defence in 1991, and has also been Permanent Secretary of the Ministries of Communications (1995-1999) and Finance (2006-2009).

Mr Teo served as a Non-Executive and Executive Chairman at the National Science and Technology Board (now the Agency for Science, Technology and Research) from 1993 to 2003. He was Executive Chairman of the Singapore Economic Development Board from 2001 to 2006.

He is also a former Chairman of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore and the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority.

He was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 1993, the Commander First Class - Royal Order of the Polar Star (Sweden) in 1994, and the Meritorious Service Medal in 2008.

In 1999-2000 Monash University presented Mr Teo with a Distinguished Alumni Award.