Celebrating our alumni community

Image of John Bertrand
Mr John Bertrand AM - Distinguished Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award 2011

Monash University has celebrated the leadership and achievements of its alumni and student communities at the 2011 Distinguished Alumni Awards.

The awards were held on 8 September at the Regent Theatre’s Plaza Ballroom in front of about 400 alumni, staff, supporters, students and friends.

View photos of the awards

Monash University Chancellor Dr Alan Finkel AM presented the 2011 Distinguished Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award to international yachtsman, businessman and philanthropist Mr John Bertrand AM (BE(Hons) 1970).

The Distinguished Alumni Professional Achievement Award was presented to two alumni: IVF pioneer Professor Gabor Kovacs AM (MBBS(Hons) 1971, MD 1995) and Australian diplomat Mr Kevin Magee (BA(Hons) 1983, LLB 1985).

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ed Byrne AO presented the 2011 Distinguished Alumni Service Award to long-time Monash volunteer and engineer Dr Peter Rogers (BE 1967, PhD 1974).

Technology entrepreneur, business executive and sought-after speaker Ms Tan Le (BCom(Hons), LLB(Hons) 2000) received the Distinguished Young Alumni award.

Professor Byrne also presented the Alumni Student Award to Mr Chris Varney who is a current Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws student and youth ambassador with World Vision.

Alumni Relations director Louise McCarthy said the event was an outstanding success.

“It was a fabulous night and a great way to honour the achievements of our alumni community,” Ms McCarthy said.

“It was our first time holding the awards at The Plaza Ballroom and it looked amazing; guests were given the red carpet treatment.

“I would like to thank our sponsors Google and the Monash Academy of Performing Arts for their support.”

This year’s Master of Ceremonies was Melbourne Lord Mayor, the Right Honourable Robert Doyle (BA 1976, BEd 1984).

Students from the School of Music – Conservatorium in Faculty of Arts and the Monash University Academy of Performing Arts provided musical performances throughout the night.

The awards trophies – a hallmark of the event since 2007 – were designed and made by alumna and Faculty of Art & Design staff member Ms Bethany Wheeler (BA(CeramicDes) 2000, MFA 2003).