CASPer - Non-academic selection for Initial Teacher Education

Anyone looking to enrol in the Monash Bachelor of Education (Honours) (including double degrees) or the Master of Teaching will now need to complete a non-academic selection component - in addition to the usual academic admission requirements. 

We'll be using the CASPer tool at Monash. 

Why the change?

Anyone can learn – but not everyone can teach. It takes gifted, hard-working people, who are just as passionate about inspiring young people as they are about educating them.

The Victorian Framework for Selection into Initial Teacher Education has been developed to help find those people – and improve the quality of teaching across the state. It requires all admissions into initial teacher education courses from 2018 onwards to include a non-academic selection component – whether that’s a tool, test or process – that measures an applicant’s personal attributes, as much as their grades or ATAR score.

Some of the attributes that you’ll need to demonstrate include:

  • how motivated you are to teach
  • strong interpersonal and communication skills
  • a willingness to learn
  • resilience and self-efficacy
  • how conscientious you are
  • organisational and planning skills.

What is CASPer?

CASPer is an online screening tool designed to assess important personal and professional qualities against the Victorian Framework for Selection for Initial Teacher Education.

Applicants will need to complete 12 sections – each containing a video-based or written scenario, followed by three questions. For each scenario, all three questions must be answered within a total of 5 minutes. Your responses won’t be checked for things like spelling and grammar, instead you’ll be assessed on how you tackle the ethical and professional situations put forward. You can view sample scenarios here.

Which Monash Education courses will CASPer be applied to?

How do I sit CASPer?

CASPer can only be taken online on certain dates between September and January. Refer to dates and times below:

Bachelor of Education (Honours) - including double degrees

DateTimesLast date to sit CASPer for specific cohorts
September 18, 2017 (Monday)10am AEST (8am AWST) 
October 3, 2017 (Tuesday)12pm AEDT (9am AWST) 
October 6, 2017 (Friday)11am AEDT (8am AWST)VTAC early offers

Current Monash students - internal course transfers
November 27, 2017 (Monday)12pm AEDT (9am AWST) 
November 27, 2017 (Monday)8pm AEDT (5pm AWST) 
November 29, 2017 (Wednesday)12pm AEDT (9am AWST) 
November 29, 2017 (Wednesday)8pm AEDT (5pm AWST)

VTAC Round 1

December 21, 2017 (Thursday)8pm AEDT (5pm AWST)VTAC Round 2 and other rounds 
January 5, 2018 (Friday)7pm AEDT (4pm AWST)International students - direct applications
February 8, 2018 (Thursday)Not available to Monash applicantsNot available to Monash applicants

Master of Teaching

DateTimesLast date to sit CASPer for specific cohorts
September 18, 2017 (Monday)10am AEST (8am AWST) 
October 3, 2017 (Tuesday)12pm AEDT (9am AWST) 
October 6, 2017 (Friday)11am AEDT (8am AWST)Current Monash students - internal course transfers
November 29, 2017 (Wednesday)8pm AEDT (5pm AWST)VTAC Graduate Entry Teaching - All rounds

Current Monash domestic undergraduate students applying to the Master of Teaching through internal Monash course transfer – Round 2
December 21, 2017 (Thursday)8pm AEDT (5pm AWST) *not available to VTAC applicants 
January 5, 2018 (Friday)7pm AEDT (4pm AWST) *not available to VTAC applicantsInternational students - direct applications
February 8, 2018 (Thursday)Not available to Monash applicantsNot available to Monash applicants

Please refer to CASPer dates - as dates and times are subject to change. 

You’ll need to sit the test at one of the times listed. Keep in mind, you can only take the test once each academic calendar. Test times are in the Eastern time zone as indicated: EDT (Eastern Daylight Time) or EST (Eastern Savings Time).

We recommend registering at least three days before the date you’d like to take CASPer, so you give yourself enough time for your ID to be verified and your payment processed.

To register for CASPer, you’ll need to have the following ready:

  • Government-issued photo ID –for example a passport, driver licence or learners permit card
  • If you’re applying through VTAC, you’ll need to enter your VTAC number
  • If you are applying direct to Monash – you will need to enter your Monash Applicant ID Number or your Monash Student ID

How will CASPer be used in my selection?

We won’t be changing our academic selection standards and assessment – CASPer is an additional admission criteria that’s considered for all applicants who meet the minimum academic standards, similar to how an interview might be used for employment. In the same way you wouldn’t expect to receive ‘results’ from an interview or reference check, you won’t receive your CASPer results.

Can I fail CASPer?

There are no right or wrong answers – just answers reflecting your personal attributes that indicate how suitable you are for teaching. So while you can’t ‘fail’, it is possible that your responses show that the teaching profession may not be best suited to you.

How much will it cost?

The CASPer test costs $80, and is non-refundable. The test cost is not charged or received by Monash.

More information

Register for CASPer and more information