Monash Engineering Foundation

The Monash Engineering Foundation encourages and promotes excellence in education, study, teaching and research within Monash Engineering.

About the Foundation

Established in 1991, the objective of the Monash Engineering Foundation is to encourage and promote excellence in education, study, teaching and research in the Faculty of Engineering at Monash University. The Foundation supports the development of excellence in selected areas of the faculty and the enhancement of the physical environment for that purpose. It also supports the development of new research areas and fosters closer relationships with the engineering community.

Our Board of Management

The Foundation’s Board of Management is committed to the overall objectives of the Foundation, and to safeguarding the intentions of donors.

The Foundation Board of Management comprises:

  • the Vice-Chancellor and President or nominee
  • the Dean of the Faculty, who is deputy chair of the board
  • up to ten members appointed by the Dean, including members of the academic staff of the Faculty.

Board profiles

Professor Chris Behrenbruch

Professor Chris Behrenbruch (Chair)

Professor Christian Behrenbruch (Chris) is a serial entrepreneur with a diverse background in developing and commercializing healthcare products in the medtech and biotech space. Over the past 15 years, Chris has been involved in starting or financing over 20 innovative companies, mostly from technologies transferred out of the university setting. Read more...

Dr Peter Rogers

Dr Peter Rogers

Dr Peter Rogers is Emeritus Chairman Monash Engineering & IT Foundation, a Member of the Monash Resources Engineering Advisory Board, Chairman of Australian Rotary Health District D9800 Committee and Past President of Rotary Club of Melbourne. Read more...

Dr Peter Rogers

Professor Frieder Seible (ex-officio)

Professor Frieder Seible is Academic Vice-President (Industry Engagement), Dean of the Engineering Faculty and Dean of the Information Technology Faculty at Monash University. A Civil Engineer, his career has focused on the analysis and modelling of structures and their behaviour simulation in extreme events such as earthquakes and bomb blasts. Read more...

Mr Clive Weeks

Mr Clive Weeks

Mr Clive Weeks completed a Civil Engineering Degree at Monash in 1968 and Master of Engineering Science in 1972. After a period with local councils and lecturing at Swinburne College he joined GHD (formerly Gutteridge Haskins and Davey), Consulting Engineers, in 1972. Read more...

Mr Clive Weeks

Ms Madeleine McManus (FIEAust, EngExec)

Ms Madeleine McManus was the first female Chairman of Engineers Australia Victoria and is a Fellow of Engineers Australia. In this role, she was actively involved in the rebuild of the bushfire affected areas in 2009 and was the lead driver in growing the Victoria Division to be the largest in the country, which included the highest number of female members. Read more...

Mr Clive Weeks

Mr Andrew Dyer

Mr Andrew Dyer joined the Monash Engineering Foundation in 2011. He is a chairman and company director, serving on a number of boards. Andrew is also the National Wind Farm Commissioner for the Australian Federal Government. Read more...

Megan Wheatley

Ms Megan Wheatley

Ms Megan Wheatley received a Mechanical Engineering Degree from Monash in 1998, and since then she has worked in the energy sector both in Australia and the UK with a strong focus on sustainable energy. Megan is currently Manager, Communications and External Affairs at Senvion Australia, a major wind energy company that has delivered over 10% of the Australian wind energy market. Read more...

Dr Darryn Paterson

Dr Darryn Paterson

Dr Darryn Paterson completed his Civil Engineering degree in 1990 at the University of Melbourne, and subsequently completed a Science degree at the same institution while working as a consultant in the transport planning field. Read more...

Dr Darryn Paterson

Professor Andrew Potts

Professor Andrew Potts founded Australian Marine & Offshore Group, now trading as AMOG Consulting, in 1992 and holds the ongoing role of Chief Executive Officer of the AMOG Group of Companies, with offices across Australia, in the USA, UK and Colombia. He is extensively involved with the offshore and gas sector on projects relating to hydrodynamic loading, and response of fixed and floating offshore structures and ships, submarine pipelines, or highly flexible systems such as moorings and flexible risers. Read more...

Mr Austin Davey

Mr Austin Davey

Mr Austin Davey graduated from Monash University in Australia with a Bachelor of Engineering degree (BE Mech Hons) in 1986. He joined Visy Industries in January 1987 as a maintenance engineer (1987 to 1990) at their only second paper machine in existence at that time. Read more...

Mr Kee Wong

Mr Kee Wong

Mr Kee Wong is an entrepreneur with a background and qualifications in Engineering, Information technology and Business. Since 1999, Kee has started several businesses and has made investments across a number of industries which include technology, services, retail, food and beverage, trading and property. Read more...

Angus Melbourne

Mr Angus Melbourne

Mr Angus Melbourne is Orica’s Chief Commercial Officer, leading the company’s global strategic marketing and technology functions, and initiating systems manufacturing functions. The role is core to the delivery of Orica’s over-arching strategy with responsibility for the commercialisation technology to help Orica’s customers be more productive. Read more...

Adrian Schirrman

Mr Adrian Schirrman

Mr Adrian Schirrman graduated from Monash University as a Chemical Engineer in 1974 and commenced his working career in the oil and gas industry with Esso Australia in Sale, Gippsland. Initially, he was responsible for providing engineering support to the offshore crude oil and natural gas platforms Bass Strait and onshore processing plants at Longford and Long Island Point. Read more...