External Staff Award


  • Prof Jeffrey Walker: National Aeronautics and Space Administration Group Achievement Award for contributions to the preparation of science algorithm and calibration/validation activities for the Soil Moisture Active Passive Mission
  • Prof Jayantha Kodikara: B/HERT Award for 2016 Best Research & Development Collaboration


  • Prof Bill Young: Life Time Achievement Award for his contribution to the ARRB conference
  • Prof Jeff Walker: SSSI Educational Development Award, Surveying and Spatial Sciences Institute
  • Dr David McCarthy: Victoria Fellowship


  • Prof Malek Bouazza: E.H. Davis Memorial Award, Australian Geomechanics Society
  • Dr Will Gates: CMS Jackson Award
  • Prof PG Ranjith: Fellow, American Society of Civil Engineers
  • Prof Bill Young: Institute of Transportation Engineers (Australia and New Zealand), Contribution to the Profession Award
  • Prof Malek Bouazza: International Geosynthetics Society Plaque
  • Dr Samintha Perera: Rocha Medal for the World Best PhD Thesis in Rock Mechanics
  • Dr Chunhui Lu: National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training (NCGRT) Research


  • Prof Ana Deletic: Victoria Prize for Science and Innovation
  • Dr David McCarthy and Dr Chris Rudiger: FASIC Fellowship
  • Prof Paul Grundy: Anton Tedesko Medal
  • A/Prof PG Ranjith: ADC 2012 Australian Leadership Award
  • Prof Xiao-Ling Zhao: Doctor of Engineering, The University of Sydney
  • Prof Xiao-Ling Zhao: Kurobane Lecture Award


  • Prof Ana Deletic: Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
  • A/Prof. Bill Wong: Award for Teaching Excellence from Engineers Australia, Structures Branch


  • Prof Jeff Walker: Anton Hales Medal
  • Mr John Clements: BusVic Industry Contribution Award
  • Prof Malek Bouazza: Telford Premium Prize
  • Prof Paul Grundy: John Connell Gold Medal
  • Prof Xiao-Ling Zhao: Fellow, American Society of Civil Engineers


  • Dr David McCarthy: Churchill Fellowship