Monash students world's best debaters, again

Kiran Iyer

Kiran Iyer, who with team mate Amit Golder, has taken out WUDC 2012

Two persuasive Monash University students have taken out the World Universities Debating Championships (WUDC) for the second year in a row, beating teams from Oxford, Stanford and the University of Sydney. 

Team 'Monash B', comprised of Amit Golder and Kiran Iyer, both undertaking dual degrees in Arts and Law, took out last night's grand final in a unanimous decision, after arguing in support of nationalism. 

Their win follows on from the success of Monash students Victor Finkel and Fiona Prowse at WUDC 2011.

Another Monash student, Chris Bisset, also studying Arts/Law was ranked as the ninth best speaker at the competition in which more than 1400 students competed.

Kiran said he was overwhelmed to have achieved such success.

"We feel proud and really grateful. It's such a difficult tournament and many of the decisions were close. We had luck when we needed it and had amazing support from the rest of the team," said Kiran. 

"I've been part of the club since first year, so it's really defined my university experience."

Kiran and Amit thanked the University for supporting the Monash Assocation of Debaters (MAD), the largest debating society in the Southern Hemisphere. 

"The support of the University has been essential for the success of our club," Kiran said.

Known as the 'Olympics of debating' the WUDC were hosted by De La Salle University in Manila between 27 December 2011 and 4 January 2012. The grand fInals were held at the Philippine International Convention Center.

Students from more than 70 nations competed in the event which follows the British Parliamentary format where one team supports and the other opposes a proposition.

Three of the four Monash teams survived nine elimination rounds to reach the finals, where the best 32 teams were whittled to the four who competed in the grand final.

In addition to the most recent victories, Monash has taken out the WUDC in 1999 and 2000.