Outstanding educators

Associate Professor David Paganin

The efforts of nine outstanding Monash teachers were recognised in a poll of over 72,000 votes in the 2010 Unijobs Lecturer of the Year competition.

Recognition went to Dr Francesca Collins, Dr Elise Randle-Barratt, Mr David Grant, Mr Michael Coe, Professor Catherine Brown and Associate Professor Adrian Evans, who also holds an Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) grant.

Associate Professor David Paganin, Peter O'Donnell and Jenny Mosse were also recognised for outstanding work in 2009, while Peter O'Donnell, capped off the year with a hat trick - his third appearance on the list.

These achievements top off a year in which Monash achieved a dramatic improvement in learning and teaching competitive grants increasing its funding income from $150,000 in 2009 to just under $800,000 in 2010.

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Learning and Teaching, Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington said the outcomes demonstrate the University's commitment to the provision of the best experiences for students and staff in education, both now and into the future.

Monash University also achieved the highest ranking in the Unijobs Best Universities to Work for Award in 2010.

More than 31,000 staff from universities across Australia responded to the survey to rank their university across 11 separate categories.

Details can be found at the Best Universities To Work For 2010 website.