Peninsula campus opens major recreation centre

The Monash Peninsula Activity and Recreation Centre

The Monash Peninsula Activity and Recreation Centre

A new $12.8 million activity and recreation centre at Monash University’s Peninsula campus will radically improve services to staff, students and the people of the Mornington Peninsula.

Launched earlier today by University Vice-Chancellor Professor Ed Byrne and Senator Gavin Marshall, the six-star energy rated Monash Peninsula Activity and Recreation Centre (MPARC)  will provide the local community with access to state-of-the-art sporting facilities as well as specialised teaching and research areas for students and staff.

The new centre will enhance the campus’ ‘Healthy Active Community’ theme, by providing consultation rooms for students and staff in a range of disciplines including education, occupational therapy, physiotherapy and sport and outdoor recreation.

Director of Monash Sport, Martin Doulton, said Monash was taking a leap forward on the Peninsula with the new MPARC facility, which features a new gymnasium space, group fitness room, group cycle studio, and a two-court multi-purpose stadium with viewing platforms.

“The centre offers services and memberships to Monash University students, staff and the wider community,” Mr Doulton said.

“MPARC will see the launch of an expanded social sport competition, which will lead to a dramatically improved set of sporting services and facilities on the Mornington Peninsula.”

As well as a larger fitness centre and a group fitness studio, the centre has an exercise physiology lab and a movement and performance studio.

“We are going to leverage the extra court space to relaunch our social sport program on the Peninsula including indoor soccer, mixed and women’s netball and basketball – all open to the public,” Mr Doulton said.

The new facility was jointly funded by Monash and the Commonwealth Government’s Capital Development Pool and Better Universities Renewal Funding.

Senator Marshall is also Chair of the Senate Standing Committee on Education, Employment and Workplace Relations.