Warwick Prize for Writing 2015 longlist announced

Warwick Prize for Writing 2015 long list

Some of the books on the Warwick Writing Prize longlist.

The Warwick Prize for Writing has announced its longlist of 13 titles under consideration for its 2015 edition.

The unique biennial literary prize, run by the University of Warwick, is chosen from submissions from students, staff and alumni from Monash University and the University of Warwick, alongside publisher submissions.

The £25,000 (AUD$50,000) prize is an international cross-disciplinary award open to any genre or form of writing. The theme for this year’s prize is ‘Instinct’.

The titles include one poetry, seven fiction, and five non-fiction books - with short stories, memoir and science fiction all represented.

From a tale of sign-language dependent Maya siblings, to an examination of Aristotle’s pioneering biological work, and a lyrical love letter to commercial aviation, it is a diverse list, reflecting the international and inclusive nature of the prize.

Other subjects include the loss of a young daughter, a mysterious expedition into an environmental disaster zone, and reflections on a hardscrabble childhood.

Works by internationally renowned authors Karl Ove Knausgaard and Marilynne Robinson sit alongside a debut novel from Sara Baume and the powerful and widely-acclaimed memoir of US lawyer and racial equality campaigner Bryan Stevenson.

Independent publishers are well represented with eight titles on the list, with Bloomsbury, Carcanet, Canongate, Granta, Scribe, Serpent’s Tail and Tramp Press represented.

The Warwick Prize for Writing 2015 longlist is:

  • Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume (Tramp Press) - Fiction
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler (Serpent’s Tail) - Fiction
  • Divided Lives by Lyndall Gordon (Virago) – Non-fiction
  • Her Birth by Rebecca Goss (Carcanet) – Poetry
  • The Dig by Cynan Jones (Granta) – Fiction
  • Redeployment by Phil Klay (Canongate) - Fiction
  • A Man In Love by Karl Ove Knausgaard (Harvill Secker) – Non-fiction
  • The Lagoon: How Aristotle Invented Science by Armand Marie Leroi (Bloomsbury) – Non-fiction
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson (Virago) – Fiction
  • Ismael and His Sisters by Louise Stern (Granta) – Fiction
  • Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson (Scribe) – Non-fiction
  • Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer (Fourth Estate) – Fiction
  • Skyfaring by Mark Vanhoenacker (Chatto & Windus) – Non-fiction

In addition to winning the £25,000 (AUD$50,000) monetary prize, the winner will be awarded the opportunity to take up a short placement at the University of Warwick.

The judging panel for the 2015 prize is chaired by Warwick alumna and author A L Kennedy, who is joined by author and academic Robert Macfarlane, actress and director Fiona Shaw, Warwick alumnus and Lonely Planet founder Tony Wheeler and physician and writer Gavin Francis.

“I'm delighted to see we have such a strong and varied list and am looking forward to our judging discussions for the shortlist and prize. My best wishes and thanks to all those currently included and to my fellow judges,” A L Kennedy said.

Naomi Klein was the inaugural winner of the prize in 2009, for her book The Shock Doctrine, an exposé of disaster capitalism. The 2011 prize was awarded to Peter Forbes for Dazzled and Deceived, a cultural history of mimicry and camouflage in nature, art and warfare. The prize was awarded to a poet for the first time in 2013, to Alice Oswald for Memorial.

A shortlist will be announced in October, with the winner announced in November. Further information is available at warwick.ac.uk/go/prizeforwriting

The Warwick Prize for Writing was founded in 2008. The nominations process was expanded in 2013 to include Monash University, following the formation of the Monash Warwick Alliance.

Formed in early 2012, the Monash Warwick Alliance represents an innovation in higher education and research and aims to accelerate the exchange of people, ideas and information between Monash University and the University of Warwick.