Research Supervisors - School of Biological Sciences

Share
Share
Supervisor Name Research Areas Telephone Email address
A/Prof. Sureshkumar Balasubramanian Molecular basis of phenotypic variation; thermal responses in plants; genetic analyis of trinucleotide repeat expansions. +61 3 990 51373 Sureshkumar.Balasubramanian@monash.edu
Prof. John Beardall Effects of elevated CO2 and UV-B radiation on photosynthetic performance of microalgae; interactions between photosynthesis and nutrient acquisition by algae; biospectroscopy of algae and its applications in determining macromolecular composition and phylogenetics relationships; use of algae in bioremediation of polluted waters. +61 3 990 55630 John.Beardall@monash.edu
Dr Cecilia Blomstedt Molecular regulation of cyanogenesis in forage sorghum, use of plant mutants to study nutrient use efficiency and abiotic stress tolerance, desiccation tolerance in resurrection plants and application to crop plants, plant secondary metabolism. +61 3 990 54481 Cecilia.Blomstedt@monash.edu
Prof. John Bowman Genetic and molecular analysis of plant development. +61 3 990 58420 John.Bowman@monash.edu
Dr Robert Bryson-Richardson Understanding the process of cardiac and skeletal muscle formation and the diseases that result from disruption of this process. We utilise the advantages of the zebrafish model system, including in vivo imaging and a combination of forward and reverse genetic approaches, to try to understand the mechanism by which the complex architecture of the muscle is patterned. +61 3 990 24629 Robert.Bryson-Richardson@monash.edu
A/Prof. Martin Burd Evolution of life-history traits in plants and animals; behaviour and social organisation in ant colonies; mathematical theory in biology. +61 3 990 55667 Martin.Burd@monash.edu
Dr Richard Burke Molecular genetics of Drosophila melanogaste; heavy metal homeostasis; invertebrate developmental biology; animal models of human neurodegenerative diseases. +61 3 990 59531 Richard.Burke@monash.edu
Dr David Chapple Evolutionary biology; invasion biology; behavioural and evolutionary ecology; populations and conservation genetics; phylogenetics and phylogeography. +61 3 990 53015 David.Chapple@monash.edu
Prof. Steven Chown Integrated ecology; biogeopraphic and macroecological studies; evolutionary physiology, spatial ecology, invasion biology   Steven.Chown@monash.edu
Dr Rohan Clarke Restoration ecology in agricultural landscapes; ecology, conservation biology and management of Australian birds; Avian pathogens and bird MGEation in Torres Strait +61 3 990 51968 Rohan.Clarke@monash.edu
Dr Carly Cook Improving the use of scientific information in environmental decisions by applying a range of applied research questions and development of decision-support tools. +61 3 990 55642 Carly.Cook@monash.edu
Dr Marien DeBruijne Odor coding processes; development and physiology of olfactory epithelia; biosensors for food, health and security industry; evolution of olfactory receptors; insect-plant interactions +61 3 990 55766 Marien.DeBruijne@monash.edu
Dr Kaspar Delhey Avian Biology; community ecology; foraging behaviour; extra-pair paternity; bird cosmetics +61 3 990 20377 Kaspar.Delhey@monash.edu
Dr Damian Dowling Evolutionary biology, behavioural ecology and quantitative genetics: Sexual selection, sperm competition, sexual conflict; life-history evolution and trade-offs; the evolution of ageing; coevolutionary processes, including mitochondrial-nuclear coevolution. +61 3 .990 20479 Damian.Dowling@monash.edu
Dr Alistair Evans Functional morphology; 3D imaging and analysis; morphological evolution; mammalian dentitions; palaeoclimatology and mass extinctions. +61 3 990 53110 Alistair.Evans@monash.edu
A/Prof.  Ros Gleadow Environmental regulation of secondary metabolism in plants; molecular control of secondary metabolism in plants; plant-animal interactions; science communication. +61 3 990 51667 Ros.Gleadow@monash.edu
Dr Matt Hall Genetics of host-parasite interactions, life-history tradeoffs and ageing using Daphnia as a model system. +61 3 9905 5793 matthew.hall@monash.edu
Dr Kay Hodgins Plant evolution in human altered environments, plant adaptation to climate change, crop evolution and the evolution of plant sexual systems. +61 3 9905 0768 Kathryn.hodgins@monash.edu
Dr Melodie McGeoch Climate change and invasive alien species impacts on biodiversity, the quantification and prediction of spatial pattern in biodiversity and the development of bioindicators.   Melodie.McGeoch@monash.edu
A/Prof. Elizabeth (Beth) McGraw Insect immune response to microbial infection; the relationship between infection and insect fitness; the genetic basis of insect resistance to disease; the behavioural and physiological consequences of symbiont infection for insects. +61 3 990 20167 Beth.Mcgraw@monash.edu
Prof. Dustin Marshall Marine evolutionary ecology; causes and consequences of links between life-history stages in marine invertebrates; the role of sexual selection in the reproductive strategies of marine free-spawners. +61 3 990 24449 Dustin.Marshall@monash.edu
Dr Joel Miller Mathematical models of infectious disease transmission and dynamical processes on networks. +61 3 990 20168 Joel.Miller@monash.edu
Dr Joslin Moore Ecological theory and models to solve and inform applied ecological problems that will aid in the conservation and sustainable management of natural resources. +61 9905 0799 joslin.moore@monash.edu
Dr Magdalena Nystrand Evolutionary biology and conservation biology; the genetics underlying fitness-determining life history traits; how these genes vary across different environments. +61 3 990 24346 Magdalena.Nystrand@monash.edu
Prof. Scott O'Neill Insect interactions with bacterial symbionts and their potential utilization for controlling mosquito-transmitted disease. +61 3 990 54123 Scott.O'Neill@monash.edu
Dr Anne Peters We study trade-offs in signalling using avian sexual signals as a model. Birds show a variety of signals, the most striking of which are acoustic (complex song) and visual (brightly coloured, ornamental plumage and bare parts). +61 3 990 56287 Anne.Peters@monash.edu
Dr Gerry Rayner Plant ecology; the ecology and evolution of arid zone plants; comparative seed and seedling biology of Australian taxa; interactions between climate and ecology of plant species. +61 3 990 55629 Gerry.Rayner@monash.edu
A/Prof. Richard Reina Osmoregulation by marine and desert vertebrates; diving physiology and ecology of sea turtles and penguins; marine conservation biology and management of national marine parks; effects of secondary salinisation of native frogs; stress and physiological responses of sharks following capture by fisheries. +61 3 990 55600 Richard.Reina@monash.edu
Dr Carla Sgrò Life history evolution; evolutionary genetics; the genetic basis of adaptation to changing environmental conditions. +61 3 990 20332 Carla.Sgro@monash.edu
A/ Prof. Paul Sunnucks Invertebrates in rotting logs; evolution and genetics of parthenogenetic and sexual aphids; barrier effects of roads on wildlife. +61 3 990 59593 Paul.Sunnucks@monash.edu
Dr Marina Telonis-Scott Ecological genetics; organism adaptation to climate change; organism change in response to pollutants. + 61 3 990
24607  
Marina.TelonisScott.monash.edu
A/Prof Coral Warr Olfactory signal transduction in Drosophila melanogaster; Drosophila odorant receptor comparative genomics; protein tyrosine phosphatases and cellular signalling in Drosophila melanogaster. +61 3 990 55504 Coral.Warr@monash.edu
Dr Bob Wong Behavioural and evolutionary ecology; sexual selection; parental care and filial cannibalism; anthropogenic impacts on animal mating systems; predator-prey interactions. +61 3 990 55652 Bob.Wong@monash.edu