Skip to content

Schools in Science

Dr Toby D. M. Bell

BSc(Hons), BE(Hons), PhD (Melb)

Room: 23, room G35S
Phone: +61 3 9905 4566
Fax: +61 3 9905 4597


Professional Profile


Lecturer in Chemistry, Monash University, Australia.


Centenary Research Fellow, University of Melbourne, Australia.


Postdoctoral Fellow, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium, in the De Schryver – Van der Auweraer – Hofkens group.


Postdoctoral Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Radiation Chemistry, Germany, in the Braslavsky group.


PhD, University of Melbourne in the Ghiggino group.

Research Interests

Single molecule spectroscopy, time resolved fluorescence, energy transfer (FRET), energy transfer, annihilation phenomena, photon bunching and photon correlation.

In particular, I am interested in:

  • Discovering the fundamental photophysical properties of new materials at the single molecule level.
  • Understanding how energy is transported around in multi-chromophoric dye molecules, polymer chains and nanoparticles
  • Using SM techniques to address biophysical problems such as protein folding, aggregation and conformational change.

Research Funding


ARC Discovery grant on "Light harvesting polymers "


NHMRC grant on "Single cell biology "


ARC Discovery grant on "Novel luminescent compounds "


University of Melbourne Centenary Fellowship for "Single Molecule Spectroscopy "


  • Prof. Ken Ghiggino Research Group, University of Melbourne, Australia. (
  • Prof. Steven Langford Research Group, Monash University, Australia. (
  • Prof. Johan Hofkens Research Group, KULeuven, Belgium. (
  • Dr. Andrew Clayton Research Group, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Australia. (
  • Prof. Paul Mulvaney Research Group, University of Melbourne, Australia. (


  • J. N. Clifford, T. D. M. Bell, P. Tinnefeld, M. Heilmann, S. M. Melnikov, J. Hotta, M. Sliwa, P. Dedecker, M. Sauer, J. Hofkens, E. K. L. Yeow, “Fluorescence of Single Molecules in Polymer Films: Sensitivity of Blinking Behaviour to Local Environment”, J. Phys. Chem. B., 111 (2007) 6987-6991.
  • E. Fron, T. D. M. Bell, A. Van Vooren, G. Schweitzer, J. Cornil, D. Beljonne, P. Toele, J. Jacob, K. Mullen, J. Hofkens, M. Van der Auweraer, F. C. De Schryver, “CT-CT Annihilation in Rigid Perylene End-Capped Pentaphenylenes” J. Am. Chem. Soc., 129 (2007) 610-619.
  • E. K. L. Yeow, S. Melnikov, T. D. M. Bell, F. C. De Schryver, J. Hofkens, “Characterizing the Fluorescence Intermittency and Photobleaching Kinetics of Dye Molecules Immobilized on a Glass Surface”, J. Phys. Chem. A, 110 (2006) 1726-1734.
  • T. D. M. Bell, A. Stefan, S. Masuo, T. Vosch, M. Lor, M. Cotlet, J. Hofkens, S. Bernhardt, K. Müllen, M. Van der Auweraer, J. W. Verhoeven, F. C. De Schryver, “Electron Transfer at the Single Molecule Level in a Triphenyl Amine (Donor) – Perylene Imide (Acceptor) Molecule”,              ChemPhysChem              6 (2005) 942-948.
  • M. Angeles-Izquierdo, T. D. M. Bell, S. Habuchi, E. Fron, R. Pilot, S. De Feyter, J. W. Verhoeven, J. Jacob, K. Müllen, J. Hofkens, F. C. De Schryver, “Switching of the fluorescence emission of single molecules between the locally excited and charge transfer states”, Chem. Phys. Lett.              401(2005)              503-508.
  • T. D. M. Bell, J. Jacob, M. Angeles-Izquierdo, E. Fron, F. Nolde, J. Hofkens, K. Mullen, F. C. De Schryver, “Charge Transfer Enhanced Annihilation Leading to Deterministic Single-Photon Emission in Rigid Perylene End-capped Polyphenylenes”, Chem. Commun., (2005)              4973-4975.
  • S. Masuo, T. Vosch, M. Cotlet, P. Tinnelfeld, S. Habuchi, T. D. M. Bell, I. Oesterling, D. Beljonne, B. Champagne, K. Mullen, M. Sauer, J. Hofkens, F. C. De Schryver, “Multichromophoric Dendrimers as Single Photon Sources: A Single Molecule Study”, J. Phys. Chem. B, 108 (2004) 16686-16696.
  • T. D. M. Bell, K. P. Ghiggino, K. A. Jolliffe, M. G. Ranasinghe, S. J. Langford, M. J. Shephard, M. N. Paddon-Row, “Photoinduced Energy and Electron Transfer in a Giant Zinc Porphyrin—Bridge—C60 System”, J. Phys. Chem. A, 106 (2002) 10079-10088.
  • T. D. M. Bell, K. A. Jolliffe, K. P. Ghiggino, A. M. Oliver, M. J. Shephard, S. J. Langford, M. N. Paddon-Row, “Remarkable Conformational Control of Photoinduced Charge Separation and Recombination in a Giant U-Shaped Tetrad”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 122 (2000) 10661-10666.