Skip to content

Thea Parnamae Rural Pharmacy Scholarship


For current students

The Thea Pärnamäe Rural Pharmacy Bursary was introduced to support female students to undertake an undergraduate degree.

It is named in honour of Thea Pärnamäe, a pharmacist in Sweden who was born in rural Estonia in January 1927 fled to Sweden in 1944 as a refugee of World War II. Upon completion of her secondary school studies in Sweden, Thea elected to enrol in pharmacy college because she considered a career as a pharmacist to be promising both in terms of personal and societal benefits. Thea was proud of being identified as a dedicated pharmacist and did prove to reap the benefits of her career as expected. Thea died in Stockholm, Sweden in November 2010.


Total average value of up to $1000

  • $1200 per annum for one year only
Number offered
  • One bursary is available, subject to available funding
  • Based on academic achievement and awarded to the highest achieving student


All conditions must be met

  • Australian citizen
  • Current female student enrolled full-time in the Bachelor of Pharmacy in the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at a Monash campus in Australia
  • Permanent residence that is more than 50 km from the Melbourne CBD

Note: Past recipients of the Thea Pärnamäe Rural Pharmacy Bursary are not eligible to apply

  • Must maintain full time enrolment and a pass grade average (50%) in semester 1

Application and other information