Skip to content


TeamMONASH Awards celebrate sporting achievement and community support at Monash and in the wider community.

'Blues' are the most prestigious awards, presented each year to students who demonstrate outstanding sporting performance.

2016 Awards

2016 Awards ceremony details:

Date: Thursday 20 April 2017
Time: 6:00pm - 9:30pm (dinner and drinks included)
Venue: Banquet Room, Monash University, Clayton Campus

Congratulations to all the 2016 Award recipients!

Award recipients include the following:

  • Award: Female Athlete of the Year
    Name: Leanne Choo

    Sport: Badminton
  • Award: Male Athlete of the Year
    Name: Alec Potts

    Sport: Archery
  • Award: 2016 AUS Team of the Year
    Name: 2015 3 x 3 World University League Basketball

    Bronze Medallists Xiamen China
  • Award: Monash University Representative Team 2016
    Name: 2016 Representative team 3 x 3 Basketball

Awards history

About the 'blues'

Blues Awards were first given at Monash in 1963 when 25 students were recognised for their achievements in Australian rules football, badminton, basketball, boxing, fencing, hockey, judo and squash.

But the name 'blues' goes back to 1829 and the first rowing race between Oxford and Cambridge universities on the Thames River. Neither crew had a distinctive uniform, so the Cambridge team tied light blue scarf to the bow of their boat, and the Oxford team tied a dark blue one. This began the tradition of the 'blues' award for outstanding achievement in university sport. It's been adopted by English-speaking universities in many parts of the world.

in Team Monash