Major Initiatives Implementation and Oversight (MIIO)

The Major Initiatives, Implementation and Oversight Committee (MIIO) advises the Vice-Chancellor on the implementation of University strategy, monitors progress of key initiatives and provides oversight to the University's risk profile.

MIIO is one of two principle management committees that provide advice to the Vice-Chancellor. The other is the Vice-Chancellor's Executive Committee (VCEC), which focuses on matters of University strategy, policy and budget, including the capital development and information technology plans.

Terms of reference

The Major Initiatives Implementation and Oversight Committee will:

  • Make recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor on the implementation of the University's strategy and monitor the University's performance against the strategic and operational plans;
  • Ensure a prompt and strongly co-ordinated approach to the evaluation of academic and business opportunities, review submissions for major new initiatives against the University's strategic plan and monitor their performance and risks;
  • Review the use of resources and performance across all organisational units (eg faculties, schools, departments, portfolios);
  • Monitor the University's key risk profile, key risk and performance indicators and financial performance against its strategic objectives;
  • Receive formal Post Implementation Review (PIR) report from the responsible executive on completion or transfer to 'business as usual' status.

In response to the ongoing impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on University operations, in addition to the above, and for the duration of the pandemic, the Major Initiatives Implementation and Oversight Committee will oversee the University’s responses to COVID-19 to ensure that:

  • The guiding principles outlined in the Focus Monash strategic plan (Discovery, Ambition, Respect, Openness, Service) are reflected in the University’s actions.
  • The activities that are undertaken (introduced, continued, modified, ceased) during this time best position the University for short and long term success.
  • Engagement with key internal and external stakeholders is maintained as appropriate (including but not limited to current and prospective, including pathway students, staff, alumni, government, business partners, philanthropists and donors)
  • Appropriate attention is given to identifying and mitigating new critical risks.

Meeting frequency

The MIIO will meet once every three weeks.


Substitutes will not be permitted unless a member plans to be absent from the University for more than four weeks. However if a Dean is an apology then another Dean may replace them.


Professor Margaret Gardner AC Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
Professor Marc Parlange Provost and Senior Vice-President
Mr Peter Marshall Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice-President
Mr Paul Townsend  Chief Financial Officer and Senior Vice-President
Professor Abid Khan Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement)
Professor Susan Elliott AM Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President (Education)
Professor Ken Sloan Deputy Vice-Chancellor and
Senior Vice-President (Enterprise and Governance)  
Professor Rebekah Brown Senior Vice-Provost and Vice-Provost (Research)
Professor Kris Ryan Pro Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Ms Sarah Newton Pro Vice-Chancellor (Enterprise)
Professor Matthew Gillespie AM Vice-Provost (Faculty and Graduate Affairs)
Professor Simon Wilkie Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics
Professor Bryan Horrigan Dean, Faculty of Law
Professor Christina Mitchell AO Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
Professor Jordan Nash Dean, Faculty of Science
Ms Renaye Peters Vice-President (Campus Infrastructure and Services)
Mr Damien Farrell Vice-President (Advancement)
Mr Bob Gerrity University Librarian
Ms Jo Mithen CEO, Monash College
Ms Teresa Finlayson Chief Information Officer
Mr Bob Gerrity University Librarian
Ms Bridgid Connors Chief Human Resources Officer
Mr Fabian Marrone Chief Marketing Officer
Ms Emily Spencer Chief of Staff and Executive Director, Office of the Vice-Chancellor
Dr Greg Cusack Chief Coursework Officer and Chief of Staff, Portfolio of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)
Mr Trent Gillam Chief of Staff, Portfolio of the Provost and Senior Vice-President
Ms Moh-Lee Ng Director, Risk & Compliance

In attendance: Secretary to MIIO

Other senior staff to attend by invitation as appropriate.

Meeting dates for 2020

Submission date Meeting date
13 Feb 20 Feb
5 Mar 12 Mar
2 Apr 9 Apr
30 Apr 7 May
28 May 3 Jun
18 Jun 24 Jun
30 Jul 5 Aug
27 Aug 2 Sep
17 Sep 23 Sep
8 Oct 14 Oct
20 Oct 27 Oct
19 Nov 25 Nov

All submissions to MIIO should be prefaced with the one-page summary sheet (DOCX, 0.05 MB).

There are two templates to assist major initiative reporting to MIIO. A workplan (XLSX, 0.01 MB) and a status report template (DOCX, 0.02 MB). Both documents are required the first time each calendar year a major initiative is reported to MIIO, the status report only is required for the subsequent reporting period.

Contact information

Professor Margaret Gardner AC
Phone: (03) 9902 9851

Ms Kerrie Edwards
Phone: (03) 9902 9851