Diverse Genders, Sexes and Sexualities Steering Group

The Diverse Genders, Sexes and Sexualities Steering Group provides an opportunity for students and staff to collaborate on projects to foster an inclusive and equitable Monash community for those who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and gender diverse, intersex, queer and questioning, asexual and aromantic plus other related identities (LGBTIQA+).


The Diverse Genders, Sexes and Sexualities Steering Group was established by, and reports into, the University’s Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee .

Terms of reference

The Group will:

  • Provide the University with strategic advice and informed direction on LGBTIQA+ related initiatives, policies and procedures, and issues that may affect LGBTIQA+ staff and students.
  • Take an intersectional and whole of University approach.
  • Create a platform for stakeholder engagement and information sharing on LGBTIQA+ inclusive initiatives, policies, and events across the University.
  • Guide the University’s progress in achieving targets set out for LGBTIQA+ staff and students in the enabling and evaluation plan for the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Framework 2022–2030.
  • Oversee the LGBTIQA+ Ally Network at Monash, through a sub-Group.
  • Identify barriers for LGBTIQA+ members of the Monash community and identify how these barriers may be compounded due to intersecting identities.
  • Assist in the promotion of LGBTIQA+ events and initiatives across all Monash campuses.
  • Provide regular verbal updates, and an annual report, to the Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee.


The following are ex officio members of the Group:

  • Professor Nicholas McGuigan (Chair)
  • Director, Staff Equity, Diversity and Inclusion or nominee (Monash HR)
  • Director, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (DVC(E)) or nominee
  • Ally Network co-Convenor
  • Ally Network co-Convenor

The remaining members of the Group are appointed members, as decided between the Chair and Executive Officer following a public call for expressions of interest:

  • Lee Johnson
  • Dr Ayan Dasvarma
  • Janet Creaney
  • Dr lisahunter
  • Phillip Abramson
  • Anthea Hall
  • Holly Cooper
  • Dr David Rudd
  • Dr Alice de Jonge
  • Michael Tian
  • Todd Truong
  • Joseph Goh (Monash Malaysia representative)
  • Heather Macleod (Monash Prato representative)
  • MONSU Caulfield (Monash Student Organisation representative)
  • MONSU Peninsula (Monash Student Organisation representative)

Other members of the Monash community may attend as guests or observers at the invitation of the Chair.

Meeting dates for 2024

Meeting 1 Wednesday 20 March 2024, 3:00pm - 4:30pm (AEDT)
Meeting 2 Wednesday 15 May 2024, 1:00pm - 2:30pm (AEST)
Meeting 3 Wednesday 14 August 2024, 1:00pm - 2:30pm (AEST)
Meeting 4 Tuesday 26 November 2024, 1:00pm - 2:30pm (AEDT)

Contact information

Email: ally@monash.edu

Professor Nicholas McGuigan
Email: nicholas.mcguigan@monash.edu

Executive Officer
Bailey Webb
Email: bailey.webb@monash.edu