Professor Bill Charman

Professor Bill Charman is the dean of Monash’s Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, and chair of the FIP (International Pharmaceutical Federation) Education Executive Committee. He was founding director of the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences (MIPS) from 2007-2017.

He received his Bachelor of Pharmacy from the Victorian College of Pharmacy (now Monash University) in 1981, his PhD in pharmaceutical chemistry (with honours) from the University of Kansas in 1985, and a Doctor of Science (honoris causa) from the University of London in 2011. He was appointed as the seventh Sir John Monash Distinguished Professor at Monash in 2011.

He’s received many national and International professional, drug discovery and pharmaceutical science awards during his career, and is recognised as a highly cited researcher in the field of pharmacology and toxicology. He’s published more than 370 scientific papers and communications, and presented at more than 190 national and international events.

He was previously chairman (2006-2010) of the Wellcome Trust Seeding Drug Discovery Funding Committee; a member (2005-2011) of the Expert Scientific Advisory Committee of the Medicines for Malaria Venture; an advisor to the World Health Organisation; a co-founder and non-executive director of Acrux Limited; and a chair and member of scientific advisory boards and two corporate boards.