Angus Melbourne

Angus Melbourne

Angus Melbourne is Orica’s Chief Technology Officer, leading the company’s Technology and Innovation business and strategy with responsibility for the development and commercialisation of new technology to help Orica’s customers be more productive, Orica’s Digital and Monitoring businesses, strategic marketing and Information Technology. Prior to this Angus served as Orica’s Chief Commercial Officer and Group Executive and President, Australia Pacific and Indonesia.  He joined Orica in January 2016, following a 25-year career at Schlumberger, a global leader in technology, project management and information solutions to the oil and gas industry.

Prior to joining Orica, Angus was President, Schlumberger Artificial Lift (2010-2014) the business division responsible for providing engineering, manufacturing, and sales of fluid lifting technologies for the upstream petroleum and mining industries. Angus also served as Vice President, Schlumberger Engineering and Manufacturing Asia (2007-2010) based in Beijing and Vice President, Schlumberger Reservoir Completions Technology (2005-2007), which included responsibility for Schlumberger’s explosives and perforating products research, development, and manufacturing based in Houston. He was also General Manager, Schlumberger Australasia (2002-2005) based in Perth. Prior to this, Angus held senior leadership positions in international oilfield operations and management roles across Schlumberger dating back to 1990 when he began his career with Schlumberger.

Angus’ executive experience includes leadership roles across the mining and petroleum industries, responsible for research and development, engineering, manufacturing, operations and sales. He has worked in more than eleven countries across his time with Schlumberger and Orica including, Australia, China, Russia, USA, Kazakhstan, Indonesia, Malaysia and Singapore.

He holds a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering (Hons) and Bachelor of Science from Monash University.

Angus chairs the Monash Engineering Deans Advisory Council and has served on the Sir John Monash Scholarship Victorian Selection Panel since 2017.