Mrs Janet Michelmore AO

Mrs Janet Hailes Michelmore AO is a founder of Jean Hailes for Women’s Health, a national not-for-profit organisation dedicated to improving the knowledge of women’s health throughout the life stages and providing a trusted, world-class health service.  She graduated twice from Monash University having completed a Bachelor of Arts degree and Graduate Diploma of Education.

Following an early career in education Mrs Michelmore has established a reputation of successfully working and collaborating with numerous stakeholders including researchers, clinicians, educators and consumer groups at a national and state level.

Over its 23 year history, Mrs Michelmore has ensured that the activities and emphasis of Jean Hailes have evolved to meet the changing health needs of women in Australia with the chief aim of keeping women well.  A determination to address the gaps in knowledge saw Mrs Michelmore attract clinical psychologist Professor Jane Fisher to lead the Jean Hailes Research Unit based at Monash University in 2011.  This has resulted in a unique formal partnership between Jean Hailes and Monash University combining an academic research unit with a national not-for-profit organisation.

Mrs Michelmore’s emphasis upon engendering community action has not only served to up-skill and build capacity in women to successfully manage their own health needs, but has also included opportunities for health professionals to increase their confidence in proactively addressing community need.

Mrs Michelmore has been invited to sit on a number of national and state advisory councils. These include the Sexual and Reproductive Health Taskforce of the Victorian Government, the Board of Monash Institute of Health Services Research, and more recently the Victorian Cancer Agency Council.

In 2001 her contribution to the women of Australia was recognised in the Australia Day Honours when she was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for her services to women’s health.  In 2003 Mrs Michelmore was awarded a Centenary Medal for her outstanding contribution to women’s health and wellbeing, in 2013 she was inducted on the Victorian Honour Roll of Women and in 2015 was made a Fellow of Monash University.