Professor Devang Khakhar

Devang Khakhar is Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. He was the director (president) of the institute from 2009 until earlier this year.

Under his directorship, the Indian Institute of Technology expanded significantly in student numbers, faculty strength and research intensity. It’s built stronger links with industry and international peer universities, and is is among the top educational institutes of India. A highlight of his tenure was the establishment and growth of a joint PhD program with Monash University, which had its 100th graduate this year.

Professor Khakhar completed his Bachelor of Technology. at IIT Delhi in 1981, and his PhD at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 1986. He joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at IIT Bombay in January 1987.

Professor Khakhar's research interests include mechanics of granular materials and polymer processing. He’s published more than 100 papers in these areas, and has been receivedseveral prestigious awards, including the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (1997), the Swarnajayanti Fellowship (1998) and the J. C. Bose Fellowship (2010).

Professor Khakhar is also a recipient of IIT Bombay's Excellence in Teaching Award and the Mathur Award for Research Excellence. He’s a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering and the Indian National Science Academy, and serves on the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) of India.

He’s served as an independent director on the boards of Indian Oil Corporation Ltd and Antrix Corporation, and as a member of the Science Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India (SAC-PM). He’s been the co-chair of the Group of Eight committee for promoting interactions between Australia and India, and is a member of the Monash Commission.

He served as professor-in-charge of IIT Bombay's Continuing Education Program from 2001 to 2002, as head of the Department of Chemical Engineering from 2002 to 2004, and the dean of faculty affairs from 2005 to 2008.