Congratulations to alumni and staff who were the recipients of the 2019 Churchill Fellowship Awards

Several Monash alumni and staff have been confirmed as recipients of 2019 Churchill Fellowship Awards.

These prestigious awards offer a life-changing opportunity for individuals to meet and work with leaders in their field to gain and exchange knowledge and experience for the betterment of themselves, their industry, community and Australia.

This year, Churchill Fellowships were awarded to 115 Australians from all walks of life, including eight Monash alumni and staff members. Recipients will travel collectively for more than 5,000 days to over 30 countries at cost of $3.35 million. Their projects will explore some of the most pressing and emerging challenges the country is facing.

Monash University congratulates all recipients of this award and wishes them all the best for their upcoming research.

Monash alumni and staff recipients

Dr Natalia Antolak-Saper
Lecturer, Faculty of Law, Monash University
Completed studies at Monash in 2009, 2011 and 2017

Dr Antolak-Saper’s project aims to find innovative solutions to assist unrepresented accused in summary criminal matters.

natalia antolak saper

Dr Susan Carland
Director, Bachelor of Global Studies, Monash University
Completed studies at Monash in 2009, 2011 and 2017

Dr Carland received the Paul Tys Churchill Fellowship and will be exploring practical strategies for countering Islamophobia.

susan carland 

Ms Laura Chipp
Managing Principal Lawyer and Statewide Unit Manager Specialist Children’s Court Prosecution Unit, Victoria Police
Completed studies at Monash in 2010

Ms Chipp received the Jack Brockhoff Foundation Churchill Fellowship to analyse evidence-based and best practice approaches to stop recidivism in the youth justice system.

laura chipp 

Dr Jorja Collins
Foodservice dietician at Eastern Health and Adjunct Lecturer, Nutrition Dietetics & Food at Monash University
Completed studies at Monash in 2010, 2011 and 2016

Dr Collins will explore strategies to improve the environmental sustainability of hospital food service.

jorja collins 

Dr William (Billy) Garvey
Senior Fellow, Centre for Community Child Health, Royal Children’s Hospital
Completed studies at Monash in 2005

Dr Garvey will be exploring strategies to improve child health and development using technology to support evidence-based parenting practice.

Bill Garvey 

Professor Danielle Mazza
Professor and Head of the Department of General Practice, Monash University

Professor Mazza will be investigating how to reduce inequities in access to medical abortion through better integration into primary care.

danielle mazza 

Dr Jennifer Schumann
Senior Research Fellow and Head - Drug Harm Prevention Unit, Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine
Completed studies at Monash in 2007 and 2011

Dr Schumann will be investigating effective public health policies for preventing opioid misuse.

Jennifer Schumann 

Ms Catherine Sumner
Director of Company, Law and Development Partners
Completed studies at Monash in 1987 and 1989

Ms Sumner’s will use her Gallaugher Bequest Churchill Fellowship to research how impact investing and social impact bonds can support legal services for women and children.

cate sumner 

View the full list of 2019 recipients.