Inclusive Economies, Enduring Peace in Myanmar and Sri Lanka: Report Launch

calendar icon

Event Details

Date:
24 September 2020 at 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm
Categories:
Monash Gender Peace and Security

Description

Report coverThis event will launch the field report and research brief piloting a new method (the Feminist Everyday Observatory Tool) to capture the impacts of conflict on women's social reproduction (unpaid household labour). The field report outlines the findings from a comparative qualitative research study, carried out in two case studies in Sri Lanka and Myanmar across six sites (two each of conflict-affected, proximate to conflict and relatively stable) using the Feminist Everyday Observatory Tool. The project led by Prof Shirin Rai (Warwick) and Prof Jacqui True (Monash) and funded by the Monash Warwick Alliance, is examining the depletion of women's and household labour in situations of conflict and fragility.

Speakers

Alison Davidian, Deputy Country Representative a.i., UN Women Afghanistan

Samantha Hung, Deputy Representative, Asian Development Bank (ADB) European Office, and incoming ADB Chief of Gender Equity

Dr Melissa Johnston, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Monash GPS

Dr Jayanthi Lingham, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, WICID

Nela Porobić-Isaković, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom

Chair: Professor Jacqui True, Director, Monash GPS

Closing Remarks: Professor Shirin Rai, Director, WICID


Register

Register here: https://monash.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_cto-GGVCTaa6S7HC905PMg

This event is taking place at 6:00-7:30pm AEST (9:00-10:30am BST, 10:00-11:30am CEST).

For any queries, please email: Arts-MonashGPS@monash.edu


This event is co-hosted by Monash Gender, Peace and Security (GPS) Centre and Warwick Interdisciplinary Research Centre for International Development (WICID).

WICID logo