Monash academics win two NSW Premier’s History Awards

Monash University scooped up two awards at the NSW Premier’s History Awards night on Friday 1 September. Two academics from our School of Languages, Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics were winners in different categories for their internationally significant work in history. Associate Professor Beatrice Trefalt and team won the General history prize for the book Japanese war criminals, and Dr Adam Clulow received Best Multimedia History prize for the website The Amboyna conspiracy trial.

The General history prize is awarded for a major work of non-fiction, published in book or ebook form, on international history that is of national or international significance, and the Multimedia history prize is awarded to the best Australian historian’s interpretation of an historical subject, using non-print media.

Winners in each category:

Australian history: Mark McKenna (University of Sydney) for From the edge: Australia’s lost histories (MUP)

General history: Sandra Wilson (Murdoch University), Robert Cribb (ANU), Beatrice Trefalt, (Monash University) and Dean Aszkielowicz (Murdoch University) for Japanese war criminals (Columbia UP)

Community and regional history: Peter Hobbins, (University of Sydney), Ursula K Frederick (ANU) and Anne Clarke (University of Sydney) for Stories from the sandstone: quarantine inscriptions from Australia’s immigrant past (Arbon Publishing)

Young people’s history: Christobel Mattingley (independent author) for Maralinga’s long shadow (Allen and Unwin),

Multimedia history: Adam Clulow (Monash University) for The Amboyna conspiracy trial (Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media)

Full details on the NSW Premier's History Awards.

Study at Monash