2019 Allan Zavod Performers' Award

2019 Allan Zavod Performers' Award

The Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music at Monash University is pleased to continue the Allan Zavod Performers’ Award in 2019 for an outstanding performance of an original composition that fuses classical and improvisatory performance and compositional elements. A cash prize of $5000 will be awarded to the musician who demonstrates considerable skill performing in both the classical style as well as a style of music that embodies improvisation in its practice. A runner-up will receive a cash prize of $1000.

Entry and judging criteria

This prestigious award is open to all tertiary music students enrolled in an Australian University who gave been a resident in Australia for a minimum of two years at the closing date. Applications can be solo performers or perform with up to four (4) additional artists.

The Award will be judged on the quality of the performance, with the ultimate goal being that the performer-composer demonstrates elements of classical performance as well as performance in a style of music that embodies improvisation (for example jazz, world musics or contemporary art music). The judging panel will consist of Professor Cat Hope, Zac Zavod and an additional judge to be confirmed. The decision of the judges is final, and the panel reserve the right not to award the prize(s).

The three finalists will be invited to perform at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music at Monash University in Clayton, Melbourne on Thursday 19 September 2019, during our Lunchtime Concert Series. A winner and runner-up will be announced at the end of the performance. Finalists will be responsible for their own travel and accommodation arrangements.

Submission requirements

Applicants are invited to submit three (3) document materials that showcase the performance and composition of the original work, plus a descriptive blurb.

  1. Video or audio of performance of the original work (.mp4 or .mov)
  2. Score of the original work (.pdf)
  3. No more than 250 words describing the original work (.pdf)

Enquiries and submissions should be emailed to:
Mr Jordan Murray: jordan.murray@monash.edu

The submission deadline of the award will is Friday 30 August at 5pm.
Three finalists will be announced no later than Monday 2nd September.

Late submissions will not be accepted.

The Allan Zavod Performers’ Award was created by Dr Allan Zavod and is generously supported by Mr Noel O’Brien and Mr Brendan O’Brien. We would also like to thank Christine Zavod for her ongoing support and generosity in the provision of this prestigious award.