Banking and Finance staff directory

Leadership team

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Abe de Jong
Professor
Head, Banking and Finance

E: Abe.deJong@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2049
Caulfield campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Financial history

Yulia Merkoulova
Professor
Deputy Head, Banking and Finance
Director of Equity, Diversity and Social Inclusion,
PhD Milestone Coordinator, Banking and Finance

E: Yulia.Merkoulova@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4080
Caulfield campus

  • Executive compensation
  • Mergers and acquisitions
  • Bankruptcy prediction
  • Household finance

Chris Veld
Professor
Director of Research, Banking and Finance

E: Chris.Veld@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4142
Caulfield campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Behavioural finance

John Watson
Senior Lecturer
Director of Education, Banking and Finance

E: John.Watson@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2171
Caulfield campus

  • Funds management
  • Superannuation and pension finance
  • Operations research
  • Behavioural and household finance
 

Paul Docherty
Senior Lecturer
Director of Impact, Banking and Finance

E: Paul.Docherty@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4178
Caulfield campus

  • Asset pricing
  • Market efficiency
  • Funds management
  • Law and finance

Zhongyan Zhu
Senior Lecturer
Deputy Director of Research, Banking and Finance

E: Zhongyan.Zhu@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4546
Caulfield campus

  • Large financial institutions
  • Corporate liquidity management
  • Household finance
 

Zoltan Murgulov
Lecturer
Deputy Director of Education, Banking and Finance

E: Zoltan.Murgulov@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4132
Clayton campus

  • Equity financing
  • IPOs and SEOs
  • Emerging markets
  • Market regulation
  • Behavioural finance

Academic Staff

 Name and contact detailsAreas of research interest
 

Christine Brown
Professor

E: Christine.Brown@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

  • Capital management
  • Share repurchases
  • Buybacks
  • Infrastructure financing
  • Imputation tax
  • Institutional ownership

Stephen Brown
Professor

E: Stephen.Brown@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

 

Gordon Clark
Professor
Sir Louis Matheson Distinguished Visiting Professor

Caulfield campus

 

Philip Gray
Professor

E: Philip.Gray@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1472
Caulfield campus

  • Asset pricing
  • Empirical finance
  • Derivatives

Michael Skully
Professor

E: Michael.Skully@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2407
Caulfield campus

  • Banks and financial institutions
  • Superannuation
  • Islamic finance
  • Financial development
  • Corporate governance
Assoc Prof Lyndon Moore 

Lyndon Moore
Professor

E: Lyndon.Moore@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2110
Caulfield campus

  • Financial history
  • Corporate finance
  • Banking

Deborah Ralston
Professorial Fellow

E: Deborah.Ralston@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

 

Silvio Contessi
Associate Professor
Course Coordinator, Master in Quantitative Techniques for Economics & Management

E: Silvio.Contessi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 99034 946
Caulfield campus

  • Banking
  • Macro-finance
  • International finance

Huu Duong
Associate Professor
Honours Coordinator, Banking and Finance

E: Huu.Duong@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2032
Clayton campus

  • Market microstructure (market quality, market design)
  • Empirical corporate finance (seasoned equity offerings, debt markets)
  • Derivatives markets (trading in futures and options market)

Neal Galpin
Associate Professor

E: Neal.Galpin@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2386
Caulfield campus

 

Philip Gharghori
Associate Professor
Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Commerce
PhD Milestone Coordinator, Banking and Finance

E: Philip.Gharghori@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 9247
Clayton campus

  • Asset pricing
  • Default risk analysis
  • Funds management
  • Informed trading around events
  • Socially responsible investments

Hassan Naqvi
Associate Professor

E: Hassan.Naqvi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8736
Clayton campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Financial crises
  • Financial intermediation
  • International finance
  • Macro finance
 

Jin Yu
Associate Professor
PhD Program director, Banking and Finance

E: Jin.Yu@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4590
Caulfield campus

  • Capital structure
  • Ownership structure
  • Managerial compensation
  • International corporate finance (law and finance)
  • Dynamic models in corporate finance

Elaine Hutson
Professorial Fellow

E: Elaine.Hutson@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2110
Caulfield campus

  • Finance
  • International business
  • finance history
  • firm-level foreign exchange exposure

Paul Lajbcygier
Associate Professor

E: Paul.Lajbcygier@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 9694
Clayton campus

  • High-frequency trading
  • Market impact
  • Hedge funds
  • Alternative indexation

Barry Williams
Associate Professor

E: Barry.Williams@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1786
Caulfield campus

  • Multinational banking
  • Banking performance, regulation, revenue and governance

Zhe An
Senior Lecturer

E: Zhe.An@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4878
Caulfield campus

  • International corporate finance
  • National culture
  • Capital structure
  • Stock price crash risk
  • Mergers and acquisitions

Hue Hwa Au Yong
Senior Lecturer

E: HueHwa.AuYong@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2024
Caulfield campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Capital management
  • Foreign exchange exposure
  • Derivatives and hedging
  • Asian and emerging markets
  • Financial crisis

Kym Brown
Senior Lecturer

E: Kym.Brown@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1053
Caulfield campus

  • Islamic finance
  • Inequality
  • Bank efficiency
  • Banking
  • Financial development

Daniel Chai
Senior Lecturer
Course Coordinator, Master of Banking and Finance

E: Daniel.Chai@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2477
Clayton campus

  • Capital markets research
  • Empirical asset pricing
  • Funds management
  • Stock liquidity
  • Market reaction to corporate actions
  • Information and stock returns

Binh Do
Senior Lecturer

E: Binh.Do@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1399
Caulfield campus

  • Short selling
  • Statistical arbitrage
  • Derivatives
  • Media and asset pricing
  • Empirical derivatives

Viet Do
Senior Lecturer

E: Minh.Do@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4584
Clayton campus

  • Bank lending
  • Syndicated loans
  • Loan contract design
  • Asymmetric information
  • Asset pricing

Jean-Pierre Fenech
Senior Lecturer
International Study Program Coordinator, Banking and Finance

E: JeanPierre.Fenech@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2140
Caulfield campus

  • Archimedean Copulas
  • Credit Risk
  • Default Correlation
  • Credit Growth
  • Business Cycles
  • Markov Chains

Li Ge
Senior Lecturer                                                         Course Coordinator, Master of Commerce

E: Li.Ge@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2123
Caulfield campus

  • Empirical asset pricing
  • Options
  • Informed trading
  • Corporate events
  • Corporate finance
  • Behavioural finance

Abey Gunasekarage
Senior Lecturer

E: Abeyratna.Gunasekarage@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9904 7249
Clayton campus

  • Mergers and acquisitions
  • CEO dominance and financial decisions
  • Bank performance and risk
  • Governance and carbon emissions management

Wayne Huf
Senior Lecturer (Practice)
STARLab Director

E: Wayne.Huf@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4951
Caulfield campus

  • Finance
  • Managed Funds
  • Superannuation
  • Efficiency
  • Data Envelopment Analysis
  • Operations Research

Thanh Huynh
Senior Lecturer
Research Seminar Convenor, Banking and Finance 

E: Thanh.Huynh@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1474
Caulfield campus

  • Asset pricing
  • Disaster risk
  • Institutional investors
  • The role of media in finance
  • Earnings management

Shrimal Perera
Senior Lecturer

E: Shrimal.Perera@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4455
Clayton campus

  • Bank capital regulation
  • Bank efficiency measurement
  • Competition vs contestability
  • Systemic liquidity
  • Systemic stability

Jean Paul Rabanal Sobrino
Senior Lecturer

E: JeanPaul.Rabanal@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8606
Clayton campus

  • Experimental finance
  • Behavioural finance

Abu Zafar Shahriar
Senior Lecturer

E: Shahriar.AbuZafar@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2652
Caulfield campus

  • Microfinance
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Crowdfunding

Joshua Shemesh
Senior Lecturer

E: Joshua.Shemesh@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4920
Caulfield campus

  • Behavioural finance
  • Empirical corporate finance
  • Analysts

John Vaz
Senior Lecturer

E: John.Vaz@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4185
Caulfield campus

  • Banking and monetary system
  • Macroeconomy and financial markets
  • FinTech, blockchain and cryptocurrency
  • Funds management
  • Corporate finance (firm valuation)

Jayasinghe Wickramanayake
Senior Lecturer

E: J.Wickramanayake@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

  • Superannuation and pension finance
  • Funds management
  • Central banking
  • Mergers and acquisitions
  • Small and medium industry finance
 

Yongxin Xu
Senior Lecturer

E:Yongxin.xu@monash.edu
P:+61 (3) 9903 4185
Clayton campus

 

Viet Nga Cao
Lecturer

E: Viet.Cao@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2431
Caulfield campus

  • Empirical asset pricing
  • Market anomalies
  • Investment-based asset pricing

Barbara Chambers
Lecturer

E: Barbara.Chambers@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2752
Caulfield campus

  • Superannuation
  • The design of retirement income products
  • Financial literacy
  • Capital structure
  • Bankruptcy
  • Behavioural finance
 

Jason Choo
Lecturer

E: Jason.Choo@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8628
Caulfield campus

  • Clustering
  • Property Investment
  • clustering
  • property investment

Ying Dou
Lecturer

E: Ying.Dou@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0799
Clayton campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Corporate governance
  • Boards of directors
  • Managerial incentives
  • Mergers and acquisitions

Philip Drummond
Lecturer

E: Philip.Drummond@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 9313
Clayton campus

  • Market microstructure
  • Behavioural finance

Piyadasa Edirisuriya
Lecturer

E: Piyadasa.Edirisuriya@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2226
Caulfield campus

  • Banking
  • Economics
  • South Asian financial and equity markets
  • Bank performance and deregulation
  • Corruption
 

Marina Gertsberg
Lecturer

E: Marina.Gertsberg@monash.edu
P:+61 (3) 9903 1442
Caulfield campus

  • Alternative assets
  • Gender economics
  • Entrepreneurial finance
  • Behavioural finance
  • Digital economy
 

Idan Hodor
Lecturer

E: Idan.Hodor@monash.edu
P:+61 (3) 9903 4581
Caulfield campus

  • Asset Pricing with Frictions
  • Financial Institutions
  • Contract Theory
  • Entrepreneurship
 

Emdad Islam
Lecturer

E:Emdad.Islam@monash.edu
P:+61 (3) 9905 1446
Clayton campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Technological innovation
  • Law and finance
  • Executive compensation
  • Climate finance
  • Family firms
  • Market for corporate control

Ying Liang
Lecturer

E: Ying.Liang@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2484
Clayton campus

 

Manapon Limkriangkrai
Lecturer

E: Manapon.Limkriangkrai@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8436
Clayton campus

  • Empirical asset pricing
  • Market efficiency
  • Market anomalies
  • Behavioural finance

Hannah Nguyen
Lecturer

E: Hannah.Nguyen@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1107
Caulfield campus

  • Empirical asset pricing
  • Environmental finance
  • Risk management
  • Financial institutions

Long Pham
Lecturer of Practice

E: Long.Pham@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4561
Caulfield campus

 
 

Lubna Rahman
Lecturer

E:Lubna.Rahman@monash.edu
P:+61 (3) 9903 1410
Clayton campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Agency conflicts
  • Labour and finance
  • Corporate social responsibility
  • Executive compensation
  • Ownership structure
  • Merger and acquisitions

Amale Scally
Lecturer
Course Coordinator, Master of Applied Finance

E: Amale.Scally@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1036
Caulfield campus

 

Tram Vu
Lecturer
Course Coordinator, Bachelor of Business

E: Tram.Vu@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4544
Caulfield campus

  • Debt contracting
  • Loan syndications
  • Financial intermediation
  • Climate finance
  • Corporate governance

Ying Xia
Lecturer

E: Ying.Xia@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1257
Caulfield campus

  • Empirical corporate finance
  • Corporate governance
  • Stock market liquidity
  • Corporate culture
  • Institutional investors
  • Default risk

Eden Zhang
Lecturer

E: Eden.Zhang@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1259
Caulfield campus

  • Corporate finance
  • Political economy of finance
  • Capital structure
  • Credit risk
  • Corporate governance
  • Mergers and acquisitions
  • Empirical banking

Emma Zhang
Lecturer

E: Emma.Zhang@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0798
Clayton campus

  • Corporate governance
  • Board of directors
  • Corporate restructuring
  • Corporate finance

Amanda Nguyen
Scholarly Teaching Fellow

E: Amanda.Nguyen@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4160
Caulfield campus

  • Corporate Finance

Ali Sheikhbahaei
Scholarly Teaching Fellow

E: Ali.Sheikhbahaei@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0609
Clayton campus

  • Corporate Finance
  • Event Study
  • Seasoned Equity Offering
  • Informed Trading
  • Options

Simon Yap
Scholarly Teaching Fellow

E: Simon.Yap@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2056
Caulfield campus

  • Survival analysis
  • Credit Risk Modeling
  • Credit ratings
  • Markov Chains
  • Non Parametric Methods
  • Bayesian Inference
 

Stan Tsigos
Research Assistant - Database Manager

E: Stamatios.Tsigos@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4772
Caulfield campus

 

Anne Ritter
Research Assistant - Database Manager

E: Anne.Ritter@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1005
Caulfield campus

Industry fellows

Name

Tony Cusack
Industry Fellow

E: Tony.Cusack@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4079
Caulfield campus

Stephen Howard
Industry Fellow

E: Stephen.Howard@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

Tim Pfitzner
Industry Fellow

E: Tim.Pfitzner@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2749
Caulfield campus

Iain Maclachlan
Industry Fellow

E: Iain.Maclachlan@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1262
Caulfield campus

Fiona McNabb
Industry Fellow

E: Fiona.McNabb@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2765
Caulfield campus

Professional staff

Name
 

Emma Conyers
Department Manager

E: Emma.Conyers@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2508
Caulfield campus

Motoko Stearnes
Administrative Officer

E: Motoko.Stearnes@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2871
Caulfield campus

Meri Tsiros
Executive Assistant

E: Meri.Tsiros@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2837
Caulfield campus