Staff directory

Executive staff

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Anthony Harris
Professor
Director, Centre for Health Economics

E: Anthony.Harris@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8380
Caulfield campus

  • Economics of Health
  • Economics of pharmaceuticals
  • Health Care Economics

Michael Shields
Professor
Deputy Director, Centre for Health Economics

E: Michael.Shields@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8449
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Labour Economics
  • Economics of Happiness
  • Applied Econometrics

Academic staff

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Daniel Avdic
Research Fellow

E: Daniel.Avdic@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8152
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Health Behaviour
  • Health Care Economics
  • Public Economics
  • Mental Health & Wellbeing
  • Economic Policy
  • Innovation Diffusion

Samia Badji
Research Fellow

E: Samia.Badji@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0755
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Development Economics
  • Migration
  • Labour Economics

Nicole Black
Associate Professor

E: Nicole.Black@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0261
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Mental Health
  • Child Health
  • Child Development
  • Obesity

Sara Carrillo De Albornoz
Research Fellow

E: Sara.Carrillodealbornoz@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0753
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics

Sonja de New (nee Kassenboehmer)
Senior Research Fellow

E: Sonja.Denew@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 4015
Caulfield campus

  • Labour Economics
  • Health Economics
  • Mental Health and Wellbeing
  • Non-cognitive skills

Laura Fanning
Research Fellow

E: Laura.Fanning@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1539
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Economic Evaluation
  • Pharmacoepidemiology
  • Health Services Research
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Health Technology Assessments
  • Decision Making
  • Decision Analytic Modelling
  • Medication Safety and Effectiveness
  • Comparative Effectiveness Research
  • Propensity Score Modelling

Gang Chen
Associate Professor

E: Gang.Chen@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0502
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Quality of life
  • Health Preference
  • Health Planning/Policy

Peter Ghijben
Senior Research Fellow

E: Peter.Ghijben@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8345
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Economic Evaluation
  • Decision Analytic Modellling
  • Decision Making
  • Health Technology Assessment

Adam Irving
Rsearch Fellow

E: Adam.Irving1@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8038
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics

David Johnston
Professor

E: David.Johnston@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8155
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Mental Health & Wellbeing
  • Child Development
  • Natural Disasters
  • Applied Econometrics

Andrew Jones
Professor

E: Andrew.Jones@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Applied Econometrics
  • Equal Opportunity
  • Equity
  • Panel Data Analysis
  • Policy Evaluation

Umair Khalil
Research Fellow

E: Umair.Khalil@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8018
Caulfield campus

  • Child Health and Development
  • Risky Behaviours

Rachel Knott
Research Fellow

E: Rachel.Knott@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0772
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics

Claryn Kung
Research Fellow

E: Claryn.Kung@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0294
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Mental Health
  • Wellbeing
  • Social Capital

Johannes Kunz
Research Fellow

E: Johannes.Kunz@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0519
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Applied Microeconomics
  • Econometrics
  • Labour Economics
  • Health Behaviour
  • Health Economics

Jing Bo Li
Research Fellow

E: JingBo.Li@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 9846
Caulfield campus

  • Economic Evaluation
  • Health Technology Assessments

Jing Jing Li
Senior Research Fellow

E: JingJing.Li@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8153
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Clinical Trials
  • Decision analytic modelling
  • Economic Evaluation
  • Decision Analysis

Maarten Lindeboom
Professor

E: Maarten.Lindeboom@monash.edu
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics

Duncan Mortimer
Associate Professor
Head of Teaching

E: Duncan.Mortimer@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0735
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics

Dennis Petrie
Associate Professor

E: Dennis.Petrie@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0776
Caulfield campus

  • Health Inequalities
  • Health Economics
  • Applied Econometrics
  • Economic Evaluations
  • Risk & Uncertainty
  • Alcohol
  • Cancer
  • Drugs - illicit
  • Disability
  • Cost Effectiveness

Kah-Ling Sia
Research Fellow

E: Kah-Ling.Sia@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0739
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics

Rohan Sweeney
Research Fellow

E: Rohan.Sweeney@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2457
Caulfield campus

  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Global Health
  • Economic Evaluation
  • Development
  • Health Financing
  • Water and Sanitation

Maame Esi Woode
Research Fellow

E: Maame.Woode@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0759
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Economic Evaluation
  • Development Economics
  • Applied Economics & Econometrics
  • Economics of Education
  • Child Development
  • Economics of Infectious Diseases
  • Preference Measurement
  • Global Health

Karen Yong
Research Fellow

E: Karen.Yong@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0734
Caulfield campus

  • Health Economics
  • Economic Modelling
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Cost Utility Analysis

Professional staff

  Name and contact details

Juliet Sagar
Resources Manager

E: Juliet.Sagar@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0802
Caulfield campus

Clare Austin
Senior Administration Officer

E: Clare.Austin@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0370
Caulfield campus

Shannon Stanwell
Executive Assistant

E: Shannon.Stanwell@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8405
Caulfield campus

Adjunct and honorary appointments

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

William Greene
Adjunct Professor

E: William.Greene@monash.edu
W: Website

  • Economics, Econometrics and Finance
  • Social Sciences
  • Business, Management and Accounting

Jan Abel Olsen
Adjunct Professor

E: Jan.Olsen@monash.edu
W: Website

  • Medicine
  • Economics, Econometrics and Finance
  • Social Sciences

Ulf Gerdtham
Adjunct Professor

E: Ulf.Gerdtham@monash.edu
W: Website

  • Health care service and management
  • Health policy and services and health economy
  • Economics

Bruce Hollingsworth
Adjunct Professor

E: Bruce.Hollingsworth@monash.edu
W:
Website

  • Medicine
  • Economics, Econometrics and Finance
  • Social Sciences

Emily Lancsar
Adjunct Professor

E: Emily.Lancsar@monash.edu
W: Website

  • Medicine
  • Social Sciences
  • Economics, Econometrics and Finance

Carol Propper
Adjunct Professor

E: Carol.Propper@monash.edu
W: Website

  • Economics, Econometrics and Finance
  • Medicine
  • Social Sciences
  Stephen Pudney
Professor

E: Stephen.Pudney@monash.edu
W: Website
 

Paula Lorgelly
Adjunct Associate Professor

E: Paula.Lorgelly@monash.edu
W: Website

  • Determinants of health and healthcare
  • Development
  • Economics evaluation
  • Health economics
  • outcome measurement

Jeff Richardson
Emeritus Professor

E: Jeffrey.Richardson@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8384
Caulfield campus

  • Health economics
  • Quality of life
  • Health system reform
  • Health services research

Associate staff

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Brett Inder
Professor
Department of Econometrics and Business Statistics        

E: Brett.Inder@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2303
Clayton campus

 

Pushkar Maitra
Professor
Department of Economics

E: Pushkar.Maitra@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5832
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Development Economics
  • Experimental Economics
  • Applied Econometrics
  • Health, Human Capital Accumulation, Skill Development
  • Microfinance
  • Gender and Leadership