CHE Seminar Series

As part of our vibrant research culture, we host a seminar series held weekly. Our research staff, together with visiting and invited researchers, report on methodological issues and results of current research in the health sector. We encourage discussion and debate. Visitors are welcome.

Unfortunately, from 16 March 2020 in response to travel restrictions and other precautionary measures related to COVID-19, CHE Seminars will be delivered by Zoom Webinar (where possible) until further notice. We hope to be back up and running in-person in the near future.

Seminars are held on Wednesdays, 12.00pm-1.00pm (unless Webinar or otherwise stated below) at the Monash Business School, Seminar Room H.921 Building H, Caulfield campus.

Date Seminar titlePresenter
Wed 29 January
12 noon AEST
Who makes fertility decisions? Some lessons from changes in family laws in the US, New Zealand and EuropeDr Shoshana Grossbard
San Diego State University 
Wed 12 February
12 noon AEST
The effect of sports facility construction projects on infant healthAssoc Prof Jane Ruseski 
West Virginia University
Wed 4 March
12 noon AEST
The long-run impacts of welfare bans on immigrantsDr Anna Zhu
RMIT University
Wed 25 March
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
Showcasing the Burnet Institute cohort studies of injecting drug use and methamphetamine smoking in Victoria
Prof Paul Dietze
Burnet Institute
Wed 8 April
5pm AEST
** Webinar **
Human capital consequences of missing out on a grammar school education
Prof Andrew Jones
University of York + Monash University
Chiara Pastore
University of York 
Wed 15 April
9am AEST 
** Webinar **
Office visits preventing emergency room visits: Evidence from the Flint water switch
Dr Daniel Grossman
West Virginia University        
Wed 22 April
9am AEST 
** Webinar **
Mosquito-borne disease and newborn health 
Dr Viviane Sanfelice
Temple University 
Mon 27 April
5pm AEST
** Webinar **
Lifelong effects of in-utero stress on labour market outcomes
Prof Maarten Lindeboom
VU Amsterdam + Monash University 
Wed 29 April
9am AEST
** Webinar **
Does telepsychiatry improve efficiency and outcomes in the emergency department?
Assoc Prof Ateev Mehrotra
Harvard Medical School
Wed 6 May
12 noon AEST

** Webinar **
Killing me quickly: Economic development and epidemics in historical perspective

Dr John Tang
University of Melbourne
Mon 11 May
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
Naïveté and sophistication about self-control: Empirical evidence
Dr Sarah Dahmann
University of Sydney
Wed 13 May
9am AEST
** Webinar **
The employment effects of the minimum wage: A selection ratio approach to measuring treatment effects
Dr David Slichter
SUNY Binghamton
Wed 20 May
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
Miscarriage Australia: The need for improved psychosocial support following miscarriage
Dr Jade Bilardi
Monash University
Wed 27 May
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
How effective are matching schemes in enticing low-income earners to save more? Evidence from a targeted national scheme
Assoc Prof Marc Chan
University of Melbourne
Wed 3 June
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
Mortality risk information, survival expectations and sexual behaviours
Prof Adeline Delavande
UTS
Fri 5 June
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
The effects of Children's TV: Evidence from the Italian transition to digital TV
Dr Luca Facchinello
Singapore Management University
Wed 8 July
9am AEST
** Webinar **
Inputs, monitoring, and crowd-out in school-based health interventions: Evidence from India’s Midday Meals program
Dr Priya Mukherjee
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wed 29 July
9am AEST
** Webinar **
The returns to nursing: Evidence from a parental-leave program
Dr Martin Hackmann
University of California, Los Angeles
Wed 5 August
9am AEST
** Webinar **
Lifestyle and mental health disruptions during COVID-19
Dr Osea Giuntella
University of Pittsburgh
Wed 12 August
9am AEST
** Webinar**
Do conditional cash transfers improve economic outcomes in the next generation? Evidence from Mexico
Assoc Prof Tom S Vogl
University of California, San Diego
Wed 26 August
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
What constitutes quality of care in aged care service delivery? Findings from a discrete choice experiment with over 10,000 Australians
Prof Julie Ratcliffe
Flinders University
Wed 2 September
9am AEST
** Webinar **
Missed mental health diagnoses in childhood: Identifying selection and long-term effects
Jill Furzer
University of Toronto
Wed 9 September
9am AEST
** Webinar **
Outcomes-based payments and physician productivity: Evidence from diabetes care in Hawaii
Assoc Prof Jonathan Kolstad
University of California, Berkeley
Wed 16 September
5pm AEST
** Webinar **
Prenatal transfers and infant health: Evidence from Spain
Assoc Prof Libertad González
Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Wed 23 September
12 noon AEST
** Webinar **
Economic preferences and obesity: Evidence from a clinical lab-in-field experiment
Prof Agnieszka Tymula
University of Sydney
Wed 30 September
5pm AEST
** Webinar **
Genes, pubs, and drinks: Gene-environment interplay and alcohol licensing policy in the United Kingdom
Dr Pietro Biroli
University of Zurich
Wed 7 October
12 noon AEDT
** Webinar **
Economic evaluations alongside Stepped Wedge Trials: A systematic review and simulation study of statistical models
Dr Thomas Lung
The George Institute for Global Health
Wed 14 October
9am AEDT
** Webinar **
New evidence on the effects of mandatory waiting periods for abortion
Prof Jason Lindo
Texas A&M University
Wed 21 October
12 noon AEDT
** Webinar **
Maternal stress and birth outcomes: Evidence from an unexpected earthquake storm
Assoc Prof Andrea Menclova
University of Canterbury
Wed 28 October
5pm AEDT
** Webinar **
Worth your weight: Experimental evidence on the benefits of obesity in low-income countries
Elisa Macchi
University of Zurich
Wed 11 November
5pm AEDT
** Webinar **
Exploring regulatory decision-making in healthcare: Why and when are some stakeholders more salient than others?
Dr Katharina Blankart
CINCH Essen
Wed 18 November
9am AEDT
** Webinar **Prof Caitlin Myers
Middlebury College
Wed 25 November
5pm AEDT
** Webinar **
Does long-term care provision reduce hospital bed-blocking? Evidence from a policy reform in Portugal
Ana Moura
Tilburg University

For further information on our seminar series or to subscribe to our email list, please contact shannon.stanwell@monash.edu