Women in AI Awards 2022 ANZ

Event date:  31 March 2022

Monash Data Futures Institute continued its partnership with Women in AI Awards 2022 ANZ as the Premier Partner, after supporting the inaugural edition in 2021 as the Premium Partner.

Monash delegation at the WAI Awards 2022 ANZ

Committed to supporting and rewarding excellence, the awards honoured the top Australian and New Zealand women in AI. Inspiring women who are working, leading, creating or demonstrating innovation in AI in industry, government, universities, research institutes, startups and NGOs, were eligible to apply for the awards. Four Monash researchers were also recognized for their breakthrough work in the AI field, and were named as finalists across four different categories.

Professor Joanna Batstone’s keynote address at the WAI Awards 2022 ANZ

Our Director, Professor Joanna Batstone, presented the Grand Award - Australia - New Zealand WAI Innovator of the Year, along with Dr Amanda Caples, Victoria’s Lead Scientist, to Professor Helen Frazer, radiologist, breast cancer clinician and clinical director at BreastScreen, St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne, who is using deep learning artificial intelligence for breast cancer detection with mammography. Professor Frazer was also awarded the AI in Health Award.

Dr Denis Bauer, Group Lead at CSIRO was the 1st Runner Up for the Grand Award, with the 2nd Runner Up Award going to Dr Ramona Vijeyarasa, Senior Lecturer – Program Head, Juris Doctorate in the Faculty of Law at the University of Technology Sydney.

Grand Award winners with Dr Amanda Caples, Dr Tony Lindsay and Prof Joanna Batstone

Camille Goldstone-Henry, CEO and Founder of Xylo Systems, won the newly established WAI Trailblazer of the year award.

Two Monash alumni were also amongst the winners - Professor Flora Salim for the AI in Defence and Intelligence category and Professor Rochelle Eime PhD for the AI in Sport category.

All the award winners across the 14 categories were:

  • AI in Innovation: Dr Denis Bauer
  • AI in Climate: Camille Goldstone-Henry
  • AI in Creative Industries: Professor Angie Abdilla
  • AI in Agribusiness: Dr Melanie Zeppel
  • AI in Cybersecurity: Dr Elena Sitnikova
  • AI in Defence and Intelligence: Professor Flora Salim
  • AI in Education: Dr Sandy Heldsinger
  • AI in Finance: Anna Leontjeva
  • AI in Health: Dr Helen Frazer
  • AI in Infrastructure: Dr Simona Mihaita
  • AI in Manufacturing: Associate Professor Cori Stewart
  • AI in Mining: Professor Eun-Jung Holden
  • AI in Sport: Professor Rochelle Eime
  • AI in Law: Dr Ramona Vijeyarasa