Dean's Advisory Council (DAC)

The Dean’s Advisory Council has been established to support the Monash Engineering faculty to achieve our ambitious goals and strategic plan. The Advisory Council will share their perspective and understanding of how we can meet the needs of society through our academic endeavours.

Our council members encompass strong backgrounds from academia and industry and are highly accomplished individuals who share in our commitment to advance Monash Engineering to its greatest potential. Lending independent strategic guidance and experience, the council members will strengthen our ability to support research, education and innovation in engineering.

Angus Melbourne

Angus Melbourne – DAC Chair

Chief Commercial and Technology Officer, Orica BEng (Hons) Mechanical Engineering, BSc Applied Mathematics

Angus Melbourne is currently the Chief Commercial and Technology Officer for Orica with responsibility for Strategic Marketing and Technology function, and Orica’s China business. Previously he held the position of Group Executive and President, Australia Pacific and Indonesia at Orica. Angus holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering and a Bachelor of Science in Applied Mathematics.

Elizabeth Croft

Professor Elizabeth Croft

Dean, Monash Faculty of Engineering

Professor Croft is Dean of Monash Engineering, the highest ranked Engineering Faculty in Australia, where she oversees over 8,000 students and 500 academic and professional staff. Professor Croft is recognised internationally as an expert in the field of human-robotic interaction. She has an exceptional record of advancing women’s representation and participation in engineering. She completed a B.A.Sc. (University of British Columbia), a M.A.Sc. (University of Waterloo), and a Ph.D. (University of Toronto). She is a Fellow of ASME, Engineers Canada, Past NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering, BC and Yukon (2010-2015) and received the R.A. McLachlan Award from the Engineering and Geoscientists of British Columbia (EGBC) in 2018.

Alec Broers

Professor Lord Broers FREng FRS

Melbourne University B Sc 1959, Cambridge University BA 1961, PhD 1965

Professor Broers was appointed a Cross-bench Member of the House of Lords in 2004. He is an engineer who has specialised in the design and use of electron microscopes, and in the fabrication of microelectronic chips. He studied at Melbourne and Cambridge Universities and was a researcher at IBM’s R & D laboratories in New York for nineteen years where he fabricated the first man made devices with nanometre dimensions.

Lucia Cade

Lucia Cade

Chair, South Eastern Water

Lucia is a non-executive director and advisor with a broad portfolio that spans utilities, technology and innovation, industry led research & development and infrastructure investment. She is committed to sustainability and is a Global Advisor to the United Nations Global Compact - Cities Programme. Lucia holds Bachelor and Masters Engineering qualifications as well as a Bachelor of Economics from Monash. She has also obtained a Master of Business Administration from the Melbourne Business School.

David Hawkins

David Hawkins

Chairman and Managing Director BASF Australia & New Zealand

David has been Chairman and Managing Director of BASF Australia and New Zealand since July 2016. He is a graduate of Monash University with Bachelor degrees in Chemical Engineering and Science (Applied Mathematics). He holds a Master of Business Administration from Deakin University and is a graduate member of the Australia Institute of Company Directors.

Peter L Lee

Professor Peter L Lee FTSE

Professor Lee is an experienced senior executive of large organisations that have complex stakeholder environments. Peter’s unique combination of technical excellence and understanding of human and stakeholder psyche means he has regularly been called upon to guide corporate, government and non-government organisations. He was the Vice Chancellor at Southern Cross University for seven years. Peter holds a Bachelor of Engineering from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology and a PhD from Monash University.

Ramesh Mashelkar

Dr Ramesh Mashelkar

Dr Mashelkar is director on boards of India’s leading companies, from Tatas to Reliance. 38 global universities have bestowed honorary doctorates upon him. As its leader, Mashelkar transformed CSIR, the world’s largest chain of laboratories - heralded as one of the top ten achievements of Indian Science & Technology in the 20th century. Mashelkar received the J.R.D. Tata Corporate Leadership Award in 1998 and was elected Fellow of Royal Society in 1998.

Professor José L. Torero

Head of UCL Department of Civil, Environmental, Geomatic & Environmental Engineering

Professor José L. Torero is Professor Civil Engineering and Head of the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering at University College London. He works in the fields of fire safety, combustion, environmental remediation and sanitation where he specializes in complex environments such as developing nations, complex urban environments, novel architectures, critical infrastructure, aircraft and spacecraft. He holds a BSc for the Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú (1989), and an MSc (1991) and PhD (1992) from the University of California, Berkeley. He received a Doctor Honoris Causa by Ghent University (Belgium) in 2016.

Megan Wheatley

Megan Wheatley

Partner, Wheatley Young Partners

Megan received a Mechanical Engineering Degree from Monash in 1998, and since then she has worked in the energy sector both in Australia and the UK with a strong focus on sustainable energy. Megan is a founder of Wheatley Young Partners which works with organisations to develop strategies to meet current and future challenges. Prior to this her roles have included Head of Communications and External Affairs at Senvion Australia, Director of the Clean Energy Council, and Head of Policy for the UK Business Council for Sustainable Energy in London.

Chee-Yoon Yue

Professor Chee-Yoon Yue

Professor, School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Singapore

Professor Yue is Professor at the School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Singapore. He is Fellow of the Academy of Engineering Singapore and Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Singapore. Professor Yue obtained his Bachelor’s and PhD degrees in materials science and engineering at Monash University, Australia in 1979 and 1983 respectively.