Demonstrating excellence: our award-winners for 2019

Monash Engineering academics and alumni continue to be highly-awarded for excellence across research, education and practice. In the latter half of 2019, we've been proud and delighted to see our people recognised and rewarded with a wide range of honours and awards.

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering - New Fellows

Professor Ranjith Pathegama Gamage FTSE, Professor Huanting Wang FTSE and Adjunct Professor Nicolas Voelcker FTSE were recognised for their significant contributions to engineering and applied scientific research, and have been welcomed into the Academy as new Fellows.

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering - David and Valerie Solomon Award

Associate Professor Matthew Hill received the David and Valerie Solomon Award from the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. Matthew was recognised for his outstanding and internationally-recognised research into Metal-Organic Frameworks.

American Meteorological Society Hydrologic Sciences Medal

Professor Marc Parlange, Provost and Senior Vice-President of Monash University, and Professor of Civil Engineering was awarded the American Meteorological Society’s Hydrologic Sciences Medal.

Young Scientist Research Prize

Congratulation to Avanthi Liyanage, who won the Young Scientist Research prize for Physical Sciences. Avanthi’s presentation, titled “Application of supercritical carbon dioxide in enhanced geothermal systems” explored using liquefied carbon dioxide instead of water to harvest geothermal energy.

Highly Cited Researchers 2019

Emeritus Professor Yibing Cheng and Professor Siang-Piao Chai were recognised by the Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers for 2019. The two were among 17 Monash researchers demonstrating significant and broad influence through publication of multiple highly cited papers ranked in the top one per cent over the past decade.

Society of Rheology 

Congratulates to Professor Ravi Prakash Jagadeeshan on his election to fellow of the Society of Rheology. He was awarded the Fellowship at the SOR meeting, 20-24th October 2019 in Raleigh, USA. The fellowship recognises his work on multi-scale modelling and his leadership of the Molecular Rheology group.

ITS Australia Research Award

Professor Hai Vu’s team from the Monash Institute of Transport Studies received the Research Award at the annual Intelligent Transport Systems Australia National Awards. They were recognised for their Virtual Reality Autonomous Vehicle, an augmented on-road driving simulator. This simulator offers a potential means to test driver responses to unsafe conditions.

Monash Student Association (MSA)  Teaching Excellence Award

Dr Tony Vo received the award for Teaching Excellence from the Monash Student Association (MSA). This award, nominated by students, honours Tony’s outstanding teaching of ENG1060: Computing for Engineers.

National Transport Research Awards 

Professor Jayantha Kodikara, Director of the SPARC Hub, and his team received the ARRB Research Impact Award for their work on Pipe Fracture Prediction, and the Monash Institute of Transport Studies were formally recognised for their 50 years of operation and service.

Russian Academy of Sciences 

Honorary Professorial Fellow Yuri Estrin was elected as Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, in recognition of his internationally-acclaimed research into model-driven development of structural nanomaterials and geometry-inspired design of novel materials

Veski Innovation Fellowship

Associate Professor Timothy Scott was awarded the Victorian Government 2019 Veski Innovation Fellowship to continue his high-impact research into rapid 3D printing processes for transport, manufacturing and production.

Learn more about Associate Professor Scott's research here:

Vice-Chancellor Research and Education Awards

Monash Engineering was well-represented at the University’s Vice-Chancellor's Awards, with our academics winning the following three categories:

  • Professor Graham Currie for Excellence in Postgraduate Supervision
  • Professor Jayantha Kodikara for Research Enterprise
  • Dr Jon Li and Nathan Sherburn for Technological Innovation In Learning And Teaching

Australasian Association of Engineering Education

Congratulations to Dr Scott Wordley on his Engineering Education Engagement Award in recognition of his 20 years of service to the global Formula SAE competition and our Monash Motorsport teams at Clayton and Sunway. Dr Tony Vo also won Citations for Outstanding Early Career Contribution to Engineering Education Award, judged by a panel of experts from across Australasia.

Victorian Tall Poppy  

Dr Daniel Edginton-Mitchell was awarded an Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) Victorian Tall Poppy award for his research into reducing community aircraft noise exposure, and his efforts to actively increase diversity in engineering by promoting the message ‘Engineering is for everyone’.

Monash Distinguished Alumni Awards

Congratulations to Mr Paul Hardy for his inclusion in the 2019 Monash University Distinguished Alumni Awards. Paul was recognised in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 by Engineers Australia as one of the 100 most influential engineers in the country.  Paul graduated from Monash University with a Bachelor of Engineering in 1977, and a Master Of Engineering Science in 1983. He was awarded Civil Department Alumnus of the Year in 2013. He has over 30 years experience in the consulting industry.

We'd like to extend a warm congratulations to everyone for their outstanding efforts in achieving excellence in engineering research, education and practice.