SEU-Monash University Joint Programs

SEU-Monash University Joint Programs

Looking for a Monash postgraduate qualification in Transportation Systems or Water Management and keen to base yourself a little closer to home? Thanks to an innovative Southeast University-Monash University joint venture, you can undertake a Master of Civil Engineering (Water Management) or Master of Transportation Systems by coursework, or a PhD in Civil Engineering – based on campus in China.

An innovative joint venture

In 2012 the China Ministry of Education authorised Monash University to be the first foreign university to receive a license to operate in China to offer postgraduate degrees at master’s and post doctorate (PhD) level. As a result, Monash has teamed up with China’s Southeast University (SEU) to offer two postgraduate programs at the SEU-Monash campus in Suzhou:

Our academics in both SEU and Monash University have trained successive generations of civil and transportation engineers, researchers and leaders. Our graduates work in government agencies, consulting companies, construction companies and top universities world-wide. Indeed, Monash University always stay in the world’s top 100 universities according to multiple rankings by QS World University Ranking, US News Ranking, Times Higher Education, etc.*

* Times Higher Education World University Ranking (2019-2020)

Best of both worlds

Both the Double Master Program and the Joint PhD Program are based at the SEU-Monash campus in Suzhou, giving students the opportunity to gain their Monash qualification in Transportation Systems or Water Management while primarily based in China (note that a portion of these courses can be undertaken at the Monash Clayton campus in Australia – see below for more information). For students wanting to gain a Monash qualification, it offers an alternative that may be more geographically convenient than undertaking a course based entirely in Australia.

About Southeast University and the Joint Graduate School

SEU is one of China’s key national universities administered directly under the Ministry of Education of China. The university is located in the ancient capital city of Nanjing, and has several campuses. Find out more

The Joint Graduate School in Suzhou is located in the newly developed Suzhou Dushu Lake Higher Education Town, which is part of the Science and Education Innovation District of Suzhou. This area has a number of universities and research institutes, as well as recreation and cultural facilities.

An Australian study experience

For those students still wanting to enjoy an ‘Australian experience’ during their studies - both programs also offer a partial period of study in Australia as part of the course (generally six months for masters students, and one year for PhD students).