Active Transport And MicroMobility (ATAMM ) Research Group

This research group aims to facilitate the safe and effective use of active travel (cycling and walking) and micromobility. It addresses challenges associated with cycling, walking and innovative personal mobility devices, along with the opportunities they present to enhance economic, public health and environmental outcomes for the community. The inclusion of micromobility in the scope of this research group reflects the growth of a range of light weight, electric powered, personal mobility devices such as mobility scooters, electric bicycles, e-scooters and boards (e.g. Segways) which are providing new travel options for people of all ages and physical abilities. While most of the focus is on personal travel there is an emerging interest within the group regarding the challenges and opportunities presented by emerging light electric vehicles to enhance freight delivery in urban areas.

The rapid pace of technological innovation is producing innovative personal mobility devices which are changing travel behaviours and challenging traditional thinking relating to vehicle regulations and the design of spaces and infrastructure which have been traditionally framed round pedestrians and bicycles. This research group brings together expertise in design, behaviour, safety, mobility, health, law, transport policy, regulation and governance to deliver research which underpins the design, analysis and evaluation of regulations, strategies, programs or initiatives relating to cycling, walking and micromobilty. An interdisciplinary approach is fundamental to the work of this research group.

Current Projects

  • Evaluation of interventions to increase cycling access to train stations
  • Velomobiles and urban mobility

Academic Staff

  • Professor Geoff Rose (Monash ITS): (Research Group Leadership Team)
  • Dr Marilyn Johnson (Monash ITS): (Research Group Leadership Team)
  • Dr Steve O’Hern (MUARC)
  • Dr Robbie Napper (Department of Design, MADA)
  • Dr Alexa Delbosc  (Monash ITS)
  • Dr Wynita Griggs (Monash ITS)
  • Professor Serge Hoogendoorn (Delft Technical University)

Research Students

  • Punthila Jayaratne (PhD Candidate)

External Collaborators

  • Professor Alex Bigazzi (University of British Columbia)
  • Professor Chris Cherry (University of Tennessee)
  • Professor Jennifer Dill (Portland State)
  • Dr Vanessa Johnston (RMIT University)
  • John McCarthur (Portland State)

Key External Collaborating Organisations

  • Amy Gillett Foundation
  • Bicycle Network
  • City of Melbourne
  • City of Monash
  • City of Mornington
  • City of Yarra
  • Department of Transport
  • Good Cycles
  • National Transport Commission
  • Port Phillip Ferries
  • RACV
  • RIDE
  • Victoria Walks