International Advisory Council

The New Horizons Centre at Monash University was funded by the Australian Government through the Education Investment Fund.

For further information contact:

IAC Members

Lord Alec Broers (Chair)

Lord Broers is a Sir Louise Matheson Distinguished Visiting Professor at Monash University. He is a leading microelectronics engineer and university administrator and is regarded as one of the pioneers in the field of nanotechnology. Lord Broers spent more than 19 years working for IBM USA, and played a significant role in the University of Cambridge’s rise as a major economic force and centre of excellence for high technology, where he was a Vice-Chancellor between 1996 and 2003. He was made an IBM Fellow in 1979 and a Life Peer for his contributions to engineering and higher education in 2004. Lord Broers continues to have a strong passion for, and insight into, the future of engineering, as well as universities as a whole.

Professor Gabriel Aeppli

Gabriel Aeppli is Professor of Physics at ETHZ and EPFL in Switzerland, head of the synchrotron and nanotechnology department at the Paul Scherrer Institute, Quain Professor of Physics at University College London and co-founder and non-executive director of the Bio-Nano Consulting company. After taking his B.Sc., M.Sc. and PhD in Electrical Engineering from MIT, he spent the majority of his career in industry (NEC, AT&T and IBM), and was co-founding Director of the London Centre for Nanotechnology. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and Fellow of the Royal Society (London), his primary focus is on the implications of photon science and nanotechnology for information processing and health care.

Professor Karl Beucke

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl E. Beucke is president (Rektor) of Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in Germany, an institution focusing on the cooperation of art, design and engineering. Karl Beucke received his PhD from UC Berkeley in earthquake engineering, worked in industry developing CAD software in engineering until he became full professor at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. He was founding CEO of Hochtief Software. He focused in his work on modelling, simulation and visualization technologies in engineering.

Dr Hermann Hauser CBE FRS

Serial Entrepreneur and Co-founder of Amadeus Capital Partners, Dr Hermann Hauser CBE has wide experience in developing and financing companies in the information technology sector. He co-founded a number of high-tech companies including Acorn Computers which spun out ARM, E-trade UK, Virata and Cambridge Network. In 1997, he co-founded Amadeus Capital Partners.

Hermann is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Institute of Physics and of the Royal Academy of Engineering and an Honorary Fellow of King's College, Cambridge. In 2001 he was awarded an Honorary CBE for ‘innovative service to the UK enterprise sector’. In 2004 he was made a member of the Government’s Council for Science and Technology and in 2013 he was made a Distinguished Fellow of BCS, the Chartered Institute for IT.

Professor Emeritus Richard Smallwood AO

Professor Richard (Dick) Smallwood is an Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of Melbourne, He has had over 30 years involvement in the teaching of undergraduates and postgraduates and has published over 250 clinical and scientific papers, primarily in the field of the liver and its diseases. Richard’s previous appointments include Chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council (1994–1997), President of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (1996–1998), Chief Medical Officer of Australia (1999–2003) and President of the Australian Medical Council (2009–2012). Richard is a board member of the National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia as well as DrinkWise Australia and he is Chair of the Austin Life Sciences Board. Richard is an Honorary Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences and a Fellow of Trinity College at the University of Melbourne.

Professor Frieder Seible (ex-officio)

Prof Seible is the Dean of the Faculties of Engineering and Information Technology and an Academic Vice-President at Monash University. His responsibilities include strategic planning and operations, faculty-wide research and education initiatives, academic affairs and Monash-wide cooperative programs. He is an Elected Fellow of the US Academy of Engineering and a Foreign Fellow of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. Professor Seible’s expertise is in the analysis and modelling of structures and their behaviour simulation in extreme events such as earth quakes and bomb blasts. As an Academic Vice-President, he is responsible for a range of external and international engagement initiatives at Monash, and is an ex-offico member of the Monash Industry Council of Advisers.

Ros Hore (ex-officio)

Ros Hore is the Director Strategic Initiatives and Collaboration at CSIRO. Ros has been with CSIRO since 2005 and has held four roles in that time – Assistant Chief Operations for the Division of Molecular and Health Technologes, Deputy Director of the Future Manufacturing Flagship, Director Melbourne Precincts as well as her current role. Ros leads a number of CSIRO’s key relationships across government, universities and industry. In addition, Ros represents CSIRO on a number of Committees. Prior to joining CSIRO Ros spent almost 10 years at Deloitte and held the role of Human Resources Director with responsibility for the delivery of Human Resources practices across 11 different business groups and nine regional offices.