Skip to Content

9th Asia-Pacific Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring

7 - 9 December 2022

About the workshop

9th Asia-Pacific Workshops on Structural Health Monitoring 2022 (APWSHM 2022)

This is the ninth in a series of biennial Asia-Pacific workshops focusing on the science and application of Structural Health Monitoring. This workshop is principally aimed at civil, maritime and aircraft structures but applications in other domains are welcome. The purpose of this workshop is to provide a forum for the dissemination of new principles, technologies, and applications in SHM; for the discussion of emerging issues and opportunities, and to promote information exchange and cross-fertilisation within this highly multidisciplinary field.

Technical focus

The ninth biennial Asia-Pacific Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring (APWSHM) is an international multi-disciplinary forum for scientists and engineers to communicate new research in health assessment, tracking and prediction for civil, aerospace, maritime, rail and petrochemical related assets. The workshop welcomes contributions ranging from basic research and development through to technology application and industry transition, in all aspects of SHM but particularly in the following areas:

  • Sensors and actuators
  • Bio-inspired sensors and systems
  • SHM system reliability
  • Damage detection and quantification
  • AI and machine learning
  • Intelligent decision making
  • System integration
  • Technology demonstrations and field applications

Who should attend

This workshop is aimed at academics, students, scientists and engineers involved in the development, assessment, certification and use of SHM technologies, and more broadly, anyone seeking to engage in a forum rich in cross-domain and multidisciplinary perspectives on asset maintenance and management.

Organising Committee

Workshop Chairpersons

N. Rajic - Defence Science & Technology Group, Australia
W.K. Chiu - Monash University, Australia
Martin Veidt - University of Queensland, Australia
A. Mita - Keio University, Japan
N. Takeda - University of Tokyo, Japan
M. Gresil - Monash University, Australia

Local Organising Committee

T. Chan (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)
J. Kodikara (Monash University, Australia)
C. Davis (Defence Science & Technology Group, Australia)
Y. Lu (Monash University, Australia)
S. Moss (Defence Science & Technology Group, Australia)
C. Rosalie (Defence Science & Technology Group, Australia)


Mr Dat Bui

International Organising Committee

D. Adams (Vanderbilt University, USA)
S. Alampalli (New York State Department of Transportation, USA)
C. Boller (Universität des Saarlandes, Germany)
M. Buderath (Airbus, Germany)
F.K. Chang (Stanford University, USA)
M. Derriso (USAF, AFRL, USA)
K.Q. Ding (China Special Equipment Inspection and Research Institute, China)
S.S. Ding (CRRC Qingdao Sifang Co Ltd, China)
V. Giurgiutiu (University of South Carolina, USA)
A. Guemes (Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain)
P. Huthwaite (Imperial College, UK)
H. Li (Harbin Institute of Technology, China)
C. Lissenden (Penn State University, USA)
Y.C. Koay (VicRoads, Australia)
C.G. Koh (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
D. Le (Texas Technical University, USA)
V. Le Cam (IFSTTAR, Nantes, France)
Y. Lei (Xiamen University, China)
K. Loh (University of California, San Diego, USA)
J.Lynch (University of Michigan, USA)
A. Mal (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
H. Muruyama (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
T. Nagayama (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
W. Ostachowicz (Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland)
B. Prosser (NASA Langley Research Center, USA)
L. Richards (NASA Armstrong Flight Research Center, USA)
N. Salowitz (University of Wisconsin, USA)
L. Salvino (US Office of Naval Research, USA)
H. Sohn (KAIST, Korea)
H. Speckmann (Airbus Operations GmbH, Germany)
D. Stargel (USAF, AFOSR, USA)
Z. Su (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong)
M. Todd (University of California, San Diego, USA)
H. Widyastuti (Sepuluh Nopember Institute of Technology, Indonesia)
S.T. Xue, (Tohoku Institute of Technology, Sendai, Japan)
F.G. Yuan (North Carolina State University, USA)
S.F. Yuan (Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China)

Key Dates

Abstract submission 13 May 2022
​Abstract acceptance 30 May 2022
Paper due 5 August 2022


Date: 7-9 December 2022
Venue: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, Queensland, Australia

About Cairns

Cairns, considered the gateway to Australia's Great Barrier Reef, is a city in tropical Far North Queensland. Its Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park tells the stories of indigenous Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with music and dance. Cairns Esplanade, lined with bars and restaurants, has a swimming lagoon. Northwest of the city, Daintree National Park spans mountainous rainforest, gorges and beaches.


Submission of abstract

Please prepare your abstract using the format provided. When completed, please submit your abstract using the link below

Submission of manuscript

Please prepare your manuscript using the format provided. When completed, please submit your paper using the link below:

Please refer to the MRF proceedings license for the License terms and conditions


Please register for the workshop via

Conference sponsors

Sponsorship and Exhibition

There will be an exhibition held in conjunction with the workshop. Enquiries about booking/securing booths and sponsorship should be addressed to Please mark your enquiry as “Sponsorship” or “Exhibition”.