Leadership Team

Graduate research is overseen by Monash Graduate Education who work in partnership with Faculties and other central units to manage the central administration of Graduate Research as well as develop and govern Graduate Coursework and Executive and Continuing Education.

Prof Zlatko Skrbis

Vice-Provost (Graduate Education)
Professor Zlatko Skrbis

As Vice-Provost (Graduate Education), Professor Zlatko Skrbis is responsible for the strategic oversight of graduate research and graduate coursework education across the Monash University system, including international campuses in India (IITB-Monash Academy), China (South East University) and Malaysia.  He also has oversight of early career researcher initiatives.

Professor Skrbis has a strong portfolio of international experience relating to China, the EU, Indonesia and Latin America. He was an elected convener of the Universities Australia Council of Deans and Directors of Graduate Research (2012 - 2013) and the inaugural secretary of the Australian  Council of Graduate Research (2015).

Professor Skrbis has an active and distinguished international research profile in sociology. He is the author of numerous articles and four books (including one translated into Arabic). He was previously Professor of Sociology and Dean of the Graduate School at The University of Queensland. He held  research fellowships at the University of Warwick (2008) and University of Manchester (2010). He is an Honorary Monash-Warwick Professor and Honorary Professor at The University of Queensland.

Prof Sharon Ricardo
Academic Director, Graduate Research
Professor Sharon Ricardo

As Academic Director, Graduate Research, Professor Sharon Ricardo works alongside the Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) to make decisions and provide guidance on a range of complex academic matters related to graduate research.

Professor Ricardo obtained her Ph.D. from the University of Melbourne in 1994. She was awarded a US National Kidney Foundation Fellowship to conduct postdoctoral studies at the Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine where she was appointed an Assistant Professor in 1996. In 2000 she returned  to Australia as an NHMRC Howard Florey Fellow and commenced studies at Monash University. Sharon was named the Kidney Health Australia Bootle Scholar (2003-2007). She has previously held a US National Kidney Foundation Fellowship (1994-1996); an American Heart Association Initiator Investigator Fellowship;  and received the Judy S. Finkelstein Award from Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine; and the Marion Merrell Dow Excellence in Renal Research Award from the American Physiological Society.

Director, Graduate Research Office 
Ms Michelle Lopez

The Director, Monash Graduate Research Office is responsible for the leadership of all aspects of the University’s centralised graduate research administration services along with strategic oversight and leadership of University-wide graduate research matters including strategic planning and regulatory compliance, student and supervisor development and quality expectations and programs including the Monash Doctoral Program and GRIPs. 

Michelle and her team provide administrative leadership, expert advice, oversight and insight of the higher education regulatory environment and develop and implement strategies, systems and policies that maximise the benefits of investment in graduate research and work closely with Faculties to enable excellence in graduate research at Monash.