Supervision excellence awards

Monash is home to many internationally renowned researchers and a diverse research community.

As part of your graduate research degree, you will work with at least two research-active supervisors whose knowledge and experience will guide you through your research journey.

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Postgraduate Supervision are a unique opportunity to acknowledge our outstanding supervisors. Winners of this prestigious award are recognised for their excellence in teaching, mentoring, leadership and their research track record. Past winners are also encouraged to contribute to the development of other Monash supervisors.

Our dedication to continually improving and recognising the importance of excellent research supervision ensures that our graduate research students work with some of Australia's finest supervisors.

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Supervision

2019Professor Graham CurrieFaculty of Engineering
2018Professor Felix MavondoFaculty of Business & Economics
2017Professor Antonio PattiFaculty of Science
2016Professor Graeme HodgeFaculty of Law
2015Professor Helena TeedeFaculty of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences
2014Professor Ranjith Pathegama GamageFaculty of Engineering
2013Professor Lenore MandersonFaculty of Medicine, Nursing & Health Sciences
Faculty of Arts
2012Professor Kate Smith-MilesFaculty of Science
2011Professor Sue McKemmishFaculty of Information Technology
 Professor Graham FarrFaculty of Information Technology
2010Professor Kate LovelandFaculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
2009Professor Frada Burstein Faculty of Information Technology
2008Professor Rob HyndmanFaculty of Business and Economics
2007Professor Denise CuthbertFaculty of Arts
2006Professor John LoughranFaculty of Education
 Professor Betty WeilerFaculty of Business and Economics
2005Professor Leone Spicca Faculty of Science
2004Professor Richard HardingFaculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
2003Professor Charmine HartelFaculty of Business and Economics
2002Professor Bala SrinivasanFaculty of Information Technology
2001Professor Alan Bishop Faculty of Education
 Professor Amrik SohalFaculty of Business and Economics
2000Professor Murray EslerFaculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
1999Professor Graham JenkinFaculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
1998Professor Christina Mitchell Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences
1997Professor Terry ThreadgoldFaculty of Arts
1996Emeritus Professor Max King Faculty of Business and Economics
 Emeritus Professor Keith MurrayFaculty of Science
1995Emeritus Professor Michael ClyneFaculty of Arts

For a complete listing of past winners, including special commendations, visit the Monash Records and Archives website.

Find more information for the next round of nominations here (staff only).