International research awards

See how our researchers are helping to build our growing international reputation for research excellence.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) - IEEE Fellow

2014 - Professor Geoff Webb - For contributions to machine learning, data mining and knowledge discovery.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - ACM Fellow

2016 - Professor Sharon Oviatt - For contributions to the empirical and theoretical foundations of multimodal systems, and to human-centered computer interfaces.

2010 - Professor David Abramson - For contributions to software engineering tools and techniques for high performance and distributed supercomputers.

1995 - Professor Chris Wallace - For research in a number of areas in Computer Science including fast multiplication algorithm, minimum message length principle and its applications, random number generation, computer architecture, numerical solution of ODE's, and contribution to Australian Computer Science

Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) - AAAI Fellow

2019 - Professor Peter Stuckey - For significant contributions to logic programming and constraint programming.

1992 - Professor Philip Cohen - For seminal work in the plan-based application of speech acts, and continued excellence in the study of natural language discourse.