Monash Science

Monash University is the largest university in Australia, and amongst the most highly regarded in the world. In the 50 or so years since our founding, Monash has built a reputation for quality teaching, world-leading research, and an inspiring learning culture. We’re a member of the prestigious Group of Eight Universities, and ranked in the top one percent of universities worldwide.

The Faculty of Science – one of the original Monash faculties - has been central to the Monash success story.

Our long history of industry collaboration, our culture of innovation, our state-of-the-art facilities (many of which have won architectural awards) have attracted some of the brightest minds in the world.

As one of the premier Science faculties in Australia and in the world, Monash Science has an outstanding reputation for both teaching and research.

We are ranked the best university in Australia for Chemistry. *

The Times Higher Education World University Rankings has ranked our Schools of Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astronomy within the top 100.

And our academics’ high-impact research has contributed to Monash University’s Number 1 ranking in the prestigious Nature Index.

* Academic Ranking of World Universities, 2015, QS World Rankings 2017

More information

Our schools

  • School of Biological Sciences (Clayton)
  • School of Chemistry (Clayton)
  • School of Earth, Atmosphere and Environment (Clayton)
  • School of Mathematical Sciences (Clayton)
  • School of Physics and Astronomy (Clayton)
  • School of Science (Malaysia).

Research strengths

  • Energy and materials
  • Genetics, genomics and health
  • Environmental change and adaptation
  • Evolution of the Earth and Universe
  • Solutions for a big data world
  • Synthesis for function
  • Mathematical networks, space, and symmetry
  • New ways of seeing and understanding the world

Research centres

Key faculty metrics 2017

  • Revenue $155M
  • Direct expenses $127M

Major income components:

  • Commonwealth Government grants – $91M
  • Research income – $26M
  • Student fees – $25M
  • Commercial income – $5M

Total Faculty Australian student enrolments:

  • Undergraduate & Postgraduate – 6,500
  • Higher degree by research – 540

Total staff (FTE) in 2017:

  • Academic – 292
  • Professional – 136

Our state-of-the-art facilities

We have invested over $200 million to transform the Clayton-based Science faculty into one of the leading science precincts in the Southern hemisphere.

Facility highlights include:

Virtual tour

Notable alumni

The Faculty of Science has produced a number of notable graduates who are leaders in their field including:

  • Greg Ayers: Former Director of the Australian Bureau of Meteorology
  • Peter Carey: Booker prize-winning novelist (1988 and 2001)
  • Damian Conway: Computer scientist and author
  • Hugh Evans: Young Australian of the Year (2004), co-founder of Oaktree Foundation and co-founder of Global Poverty Project
  • Tim Flannery: Writer, scientist and Australian of the Year (2007)
  • Gail Gago: South Australian Minister for Employment, Higher Education and Skills, Minister for Science and Information Economy, Minister for the Status of Women, Minister for Business Services and Consumers
  • Lauren Hewitt: Former elite track and field sprinter
  • Geoff Hunt: Retired world-champion squash player
  • Elliot Kotek: CCO and co-founder of Not Impossible
  • Paul McNamee: Sports administrator and retired professional tennis player
  • John Thwaites: Former Deputy Premier of Victoria, former Minister for Environment and Water and former Minister for Climate Change
  • Anna Wilson: Victorian Barrister and former Olympic cyclist

No content

No content