Juris Doctor (JD) course overview

The Monash JD comprises 24 units including:

  • 16 compulsory units required for admission to legal practice
  • 8 elective units

The Monash JD can be completed in three years full-time or four years part-time. Part-time students can take up to six years to complete their JD. High achieving students can apply to complete an accelerated program in two and a half years, with approval.  

We offer flexible study modes with guaranteed evening classes for part-time students. Intensive electives are also offered to all students allowing for even greater flexibility. 

The Monash JD is taught on a trimester basis with each trimester running for approximately 12 teaching weeks. All units are taught in a small seminar-style format that facilitates interactive learning and lively class debate.

View the Monash JD course map for 2017

Monash JD students are able to choose from elective units from the Monash Law Masters program from areas including:

  • Commercial law
  • Dispute resolution
  • Government law and regulatory practice
  • Human rights
  • Intellectual property and communications law
  • International development
  • Workplace and employment law

Monash JD graduates may be able to obtain credit for up to four units towards a masters degree, allowing them to complete a LLM within a further six months. 

View more information about the structure of the Monash JD.

For more information about the duration, entry requirements and fees for the Monash JD please visit: