Dean and Senior Management

Monash Law is overseen by our Dean and a team of other Monash staff members, including Directors, Convenors, Academic Advisors, Chairs, and Group Managers. You’ll find details of the Monash Law academic staff below.


Professor Bryan Horrigan
Executive Assistant: Ms Kathleen Tully

Associate Deans

Associate Dean (Internal Staff): Associate Professor Melissa Castan
Associate Dean (External Staff): Professor Marilyn Pittard

Director (Academic Timetable etc): Bronwyn Shields

Associate Dean (Research): Professor Jean Allain

Associate Dean (Education): Associate Professor Luke Beck

Associate Dean (Experiential Education): Professor Jeff Giddings

Associate Dean (International): Professor Jonathan Clough (with Dr Tania Penovic acting in the role until 1st July 2020)

Associate Dean (Engagement): Professor Stephen Barkoczy


Director (Indigenous, Equity and Diversity): Dr Caroline Henckels

Director, LLB (Honours): Professor Mark Davison (Semester 1); Professor Paula Gerber (Semester 2)

Director, JD: Professor Ann Monotti

Director, LLM and Graduate Studies: Professor Moira Paterson

Director, HDR: Associate Professor Patrick Emerton

Directors, CLARS: Professor Jennifer Hill

Director, ACJI: Associate Professor Genevieve Grant

Director, Castan Centre: Professor Kevin Bell


FLAP: Associate Professor Adiva Sifras

Honours: Professor Graeme Hodge

High Achievers' Program: Dr Susan Barkehall-Thomas

Law Review:  Dr Richard Joyce and Dr Yee-Fui Ng

Legal Practice Programs: Associate Professor Adiva Sifris

Malaysia Program: Dr Nadir Hosen

Mooting, Advocacy and Dispute Resolution: William Lye; Deputy Convenor: Associate Professor Jacqui Horan

Prato Program:  Professor Jonathan Clough

Faculty Research Centres

The Australian Centre for Justice Innovation (ACJI)
Director: Dr Genevieve Grant

Castan Centre for Human Rights Law
Director: Professor Kevin Bell

Centre for Commercial Law and Regulatory Studies
Director: Professor Jennifer Hill

Research Groups

Law, Health and Wellbeing

Feminist Legal Studies Group
Co-convenors: A/Prof Janice Richardson and A/Prof Becky Batagol

Transnational Criminal Law Group
Convenor: Professor Liz Campbell

Sustainable Legal Practice Research Group
Convenor: Professor Jeff Giddings


Clinical Advisory Board: Professor Jeff Giddings

Coordinator Executive Education Programs:

Faculty General Manager

Faculty General Manager: Ms Fiona Bygraves

Group Managers

Education Services: Mr Mike Neuzerling

Marketing and Engagement: Ms Kathy Ilott

Finance and Resources: Ms Gab Webb

Planning and Performance:  Ms Julie McCusker

Research Services: Mr John Rabling

Experiential Education:  Ms Melissa Fletcher