Human Rights Moot

2017 Results
We are happy to announce the annual Castan Centre Human Rights Moot was once again a great success. Below are the results from the Final and Semi-Finals. Congratulations to the University of Queensland who took home the big prize defeating University of Tasmania in the Final.


University of Queensland (team 9) defeated University of Tasmania (team 7)

Semi Finals

University of Queensland (team 9) defeated Sydney University (team 3)

University of Tasmania (Team 7) defeated Melbourne University (team 10)

The Castan Centre Human Rights Moot is the only one of its kind in the country, providing the next generation of young lawyers the chance to hone their knowledge of human rights.

The competition is based on Victoria’s Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act and challenges students run human rights arguments in front of experienced jurists in one of only two Australian jurisdictions with comprehensive human rights laws. The competition is open to all Australian law schools.

Please see below for all information regarding the Human Rights Moot.

Team registration

You can register a team here.

Contact the head of competitions in your law faculty or law student society who will then register you with us. You may contact us directly, however, as there is a registration fee of $480 + GST, it is best to liaise with your university to organise funding for this. Please email Caitlin McInnis if you have any questions regarding registration.

Moot Manual
Click here for the competition rules. Please note that these are the 2016 rules. Rules may be subject to change each new competition.

Mooting resources
For more information and tips on mooting in general click here.

Dates and schedules: 

  • Registrations close - 4 August
  • Problem released - 8 August
  • First submissions due - 29 August
  • Round 1 and 2 - 30 August
  • Quarter Finals and Semi Finals - 31 August
  • Grand Final - 1 September

Click here for our moot FAQ's. If you have any other questions please email our Project Officer, Caitlin McInnis.