About the Sub-Faculty

About the Sub-Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences

The academic work of the Sub-Faculty is organised into two discipline based Schools and one research institute at the largest Monash campus – Clayton (click to view pdf ~1.4MB)

The Sub-Faculty is home to a vibrant research and education community, with more than 900 research scientists and academic, including 58 Professors, and 300 professional staff supporting our operations. Our coursework education programmes host almost 3000 students (EFTSL), and our research training programmes involve 350 (EFTSL) doctoral students.

Our Research

Our  researchers have access to the latest platform technologies in the areas of  cellular-, clinical- and neuro-imaging; cognitive and motor phenotyping; regenerative  medicine; sleep and circadian neuroscience; structural biology; proteomics;  cell sorting; monoclonal antibody generation and next-generation sequencing. Access  to a range of clinical populations provides a strong translational focus for  our work. The Sub-Faculty also hosts the Australian headquarters for the European  Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL Australia) and Japan’s Systems Biology  Institute (SBI Australia).

Our Education

The Sub-Faculty offers world-leading education programs at both undergraduate and  postgraduate levels. Through innovative and research-led teaching and training  approaches, our goal is to enhance the learning experience of students at  Monash University and to equip them with necessary skills for a diverse career  beyond their degree. Flagship courses include: Bachelor of Biomedical  Sciences, Bachelor of Psychology (with Honours) and a suite of Medical Imaging and Radiation Science courses, as well as postgraduate training in the PhD, Clinical  Psychology, Clinical Neuropsychology, and Biomedical Science.

Find out more about the academic units

School of
Biomedical Sciences
School of
Psychological Sciences
Australian Regenerative
Medicine Institute (ARMI)