CCS Annual Postgraduate Symposium 2017

2017 CCS postgraduate symposium planning committee (LtoR, Ms Michelle Flynn, Ms Minhee Halemba, Mr Paul Gill, Mr Matthew Snelson, Ms Lakshanie Wickramasinghe, Mr Muthu Mohan, Mr Annas Al-Sharea)

10th annual Postgraduate symposium

Central Clinical School's (CCS) annual postgraduate symposium aims to improve the visibility of students and their research projects on a  larger scale and celebrate their achievements. PhD students throughout the AMREP precinct (Baker & Burnet Institutes and CCS) have the opportunity to explain their research to peers and colleagues. By participating, they can foster collaborations, networking and a greater awareness of the AMREP based expertise and research. Students can make either oral and/or poster presentations, which are judged by a panel of senior academics and postdocs. Attractive monetary prizes are awarded for outstanding work. Download program (1.9 MB, pdf)


Participate for your chance to win

  • Most outstanding oral presentation: $400
  • Most outstanding poster presentation: $400
  • Second place oral presentation: $200
  • Second place poster presentation: $200
  • Third place oral presentation: $100
  • Third place poster presentation: $100
  • Door prize: $50
  • Student raffle: $50

Supervisors/lab heads get a chance to shine (and be critiqued)!

"No-Bell Prize" competition (introduced at the 2013 symposium)

Students nominate their supervisors or lab heads to contest for best non-technical communication and are judged by students.  The interviewee who uses the least number of jargon words wins the session and a prize.

Explain My Graph (introduced at the 2014 symposium)

In this extempore session, participants are given 3-4 data and summary slides from outside their specialty area and will have to present these slides to the audience. Each speaker gets 5 minutes to present the slides, followed by 2 minutes of questions from the audience. The best presenter wins the session and a prize.

2017 Committee members

  • Mr Annas Al-Sharea - Baker (Chair)
  • Ms Minhee Halemba - ACBD (Vice-Chair)
  • Ms Michelle Flynn - Baker
  • Mr Matthew Snelson  - Diabetes
  • Mr Muthu Mohan  - Diabetes
  • Ms Lakshanie Wickramasinghe - Immunology & Pathology
  • Mr Paul Gill - Gastroenterology

Symposium archive