2013 CCS Three minute thesis competition

3MT logo

Central Clinical School HDR students regularly compete in the "Three Minute Thesis" competition (3MT), offered in every Australian university. The CCS 3 Minute Thesis Competition is an opportunity for HDR students to convey the relevance and importance of their research in just 3 minutes. It is an excellent opportunity to achieve a higher profile for research students and their work. The Monash 3MT finalist will then be invited to represent Monash University at the transnational final, which will be held at the University of Western Sydney.

CCS 2013 3MT competition details

The 17 July CCS 3MT Competition was very successful, with nine excellent presentations on a tremendous variety of research ranging from working with patients to laboratory based research elaborating fundamental mechanisms. Dr Kathryn Hackman (Medicine/AIRmed & affiliated with the Alfred Department of Endocrinology and Diabetes) was the winner & Ms Jodie Abramovich (Immunology/AIRmed) and Dr Kirk Kee (Medicine/AIRmed) were tied runners-up. Kathryn (pictured, right, with Jodie on left) will go on to compete in the Faculty heat on Thursday, 25th July 1.00 pm, Lecture Theatre M3, Bldg 13A, Clayton campus.


Jodie Abramovitch Ms Jodie Abramovitch (Runner up)
Topic: Influence of food processing on the humoral and cellular immune response to shared and unique allergens of Australasian crustacean species
Supervisors: Professor Jennifer Rolland and Professor Robyn O'Hehir
Department: Immunology/AIRMed
Elyse Di Marco Ms Elyse Di Marco
Topic: The interaction between Nox‐derived ROS and angiotensin II in diabetes‐accelerated atherosclerosis
Supervisors: Professor Karin Jandeleit-Dahm and Dr Stephen Gray
Department: Medicine
Brendan Elsworth Mr Brendan Elsworth
Topic: Characterisation of the malaria export complex
Supervisors: Professor Brendan Crabb and Dr Paul Gilson
Department: Burnet Institute/Central Clinical School
Kathryn Hackman Dr Kathryn Hackman (Winner)
Topic: Is diabetes management the key to long term survival after lung transplant?
Supervisors: Professor Leon Bach and Professor Greg Snell
Department: Medicine/AIRMed
Elisha Horat Ms Elisha Horat
Topic: The NFkB1 transcription factor in autoimmune disease
Main supervisor: Dr Raffi Gugasyan
Department: Immunology
Kirk Kee Dr Kirk Kee (Runner-up)
Topic: The effects of heart failure on the lung
Supervisors: Professor Matthew Naughton and Associate Professor Bruce Thomson
Department: Medicine/AIRMed
Kai Lee Ms Kai Syin Lee
Topic: Analysis of inositol compounds as a novel therapeutic intervention in squamous cell carcinoma
Supervisors: Professor Stephen Jane and Dr Charbel Darido
Department: Medicine
Aaron McClelland Mr Aaron McClelland
Topic: miR-21 in Diabetic Nephropathy: a pleiotropic and multifaceted pathological factor
Main supervisor: Professor Mark Cooper
Department: BakerIDI Institute
Natasha Tuano Ms Natasha K Tuano
Topic: SETting the scene for smooth muscle differentiation
Supervisors: Dr Jun Okabe and Associate Professor Assam El-Osta
Department: BakerIDI Institute/Medicine-Alfred

3MT Archive