2014 CCS Three minute thesis competition

3MT logo

Central Clinical School HDR students regularly compete in the "Three Minute Thesis" competition (3MT), offered in every Australian university. The CCS 3 Minute Thesis Competition is an opportunity for HDR students to convey the relevance and importance of their research in just 3 minutes. It is an excellent opportunity to achieve a higher profile for research students and their work. The Monash 3MT finalist will then be invited to represent Monash University at the transnational final, which will be held at the University of Western Sydney.

3MT Archive

2014 CCS 3MT competition details

  • Date: Tuesday 12 August
  • Time: 10-11am
  • Venue: Lecture Theatre, Level 5, Alfred Centre
  • CLICK HERE for program (pdf 392 kb)
  • CLICK HERE for participants' profile (pdf 243 kb)
  • The winner of the CCS 3MT competition was Sara Mokhtar. See her video.


Maha Bakhuraysah

Maha Bakhuraysah
Supervisors: Dr Steven Petrotos, Prof Richard Boyd
Thesis title: Identifying the immune function of NGR1 in a mouse model of multiple sclerosis
Department: Medicine

Benjamin Fancke

Benjamin Fancke
Supervisors: Dr Meredith O'Keeffe, A/Prof Mark Wright
Thesis title: The dendritic cells of the bone marrow
Department: Immunology

Kayriyyan Hanafiah

Khayriyyah Mohd Hanafiah (Runner up)
Supervisors: Dr David Anderson, A/Prof Rosemary Ffrench
Thesis title: Dimeric IgA and serodiagnosis of tb
Department: Immunology-SOBS

Sara Mokhtar

Sara Mokhtar (Winner)
Supervisors: Dr Steven Petratos, Prof Richard Boyd
Thesis title: amyloid beta protein phosphorylation of CRMP-2 regulates neuritic dystrophy in alzheimer's disease
Department: Medicine

Hannah Pearce

Hannah Pearce
Supervisors: Dr Christoph Hagemeyer, Prof Karlheinz Peter
Thesis title: A targeted gene therapy to prevent atherosclerosis development
Department: Baker IDI