2015 SCS-Hudson PhD Symposium

SCS-Hudson PhD Symposium is a showcase of the best of SCS-Hudson 2nd/3rd year PhD students from different disciplines in 15 minute talks.

2015 (inaugural) SCS-Hudson PhD Symposium details

Attendance is mandatory for all SCS/Hudson PhD students.

  • Date: Friday 20th November, 2015
  • Time:12.15-5pm,
  • Venue: Lecture Theatre 1, Monash Medical Centre Clayton, starting with lunch
  • Program and abstracts booklet (450 KB Pdf)
  • Flyer (122 KB Pdf)


Time Topic & presenter
12:40pm Welcome
Professors Kate Loveland, Eric Morand & Bryan Williams
12:50pm Complement is an Important Mediator of Anti-Myeloperoxidase Autoimmunity and GlomerulonephritisDr Jonathan Dick, Department of Medicine
1:10pm NSSI: A developmental model of attachment and emotion regulation
Ruth Tatnell, Department of Psychiatry
1:30pm Cord blood cell therapy to reduce preterm brain injury
Dr Jingang Li, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
1:50pm Properties and transport of DNA carried by bacterial outer membrane vesicles
Natalie Bitto, Department of Molecular Translational Science/Hudson
2:10pm The Cost of Glucocorticoids in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus – an Australian Perspective
Dr Diane Apostolopoulos, Department of Medicine

Sleep quality in children with cystic fibrosis: associations with mood
Dr Moya Vandeleur, Department of Paediatrics

3:00pm Long term effects of medically prescribed diets on growth, body composition, and nutritional markers in children with Inborn Errors of Metabolism (IEM)
Maureen Humphrey, Department of Nutrition & Dietetics
3:20pm Novel insights into Central Aortic Blood pressure, its generation, relationship to cardiovascular outcomes and interaction with coronary blood flow
Dr Om Narayan, Department of Medicine
3:40pm A patient derived xenograft model and cervical cancer
Dr Luke Larmour, Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology
4:00pm Programming the oocyte epigenome: establishing a foundation for the next generation
Lexie Prokopuk, Department of Molecular Translational Science/Hudson
4:20pm Afternoon tea in foyer
judges convene to decide winners
4:40pm Prize awards
Professors Eric Morand & Bryan Williams