Our staff

Professor Wendy Brown MBBS (Hons), PhD, FRACS, FACS
Head, Monash University Department of Surgery
Director, Centre for Obesity Research and Education (CORE)
Clinical Lead, Bariatric Surgery Registry
Email: wendy.brown@monash.edu

Professor Wendy Brown was the first woman to be appointed Chair of the Monash University Department of Surgery in 2015. She is also the Director of the Centre for Obesity Research and Education (CORE) and Clinical Lead for the National Bariatric Surgery Registry and the Victorian Upper GI Cancer Registry.

Professor Brown's areas of expertise include bariatric and upper gastrointestinal surgery, including cancer and reflux disease. Her research focuses on optimally managing the chronic disease of obesity and measuring the effects of weight loss on health, quality of life and survival. She has led the development of the Bi-national Bariatric Surgery Registry obtaining funding for the pilot and roll out. The aim of the Registry is to capture all bariatric procedures across Australia and New Zealand and track the outcomes (weight, diabetes status and need for re-operation) longitudinally for 10 years. She has published over 60 peer reviewed papers and has been invited to speak at over 70 National and International conferences.

Professor Brown serves the broader medical community in a wide variety of roles. She is president elect of the Australia & New Zealand Gastro Oesophageal Surgery Association and immediate past president of the Obesity Surgery Society of Australia and New Zealand. She is the senior examiner in the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) Court of General Surgery Examiners. She is Chair of the Avenue Hospital Human Research Ethics Committee, and member of their Medical Advisory Committee. She is the Scientific Chair of the International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders. She has been a chair and team member of Australian Medical Council assessment teams for undergraduate programs and is a member of the RACS board in Surgical Research. She has previously been a member of the Victorian State Ministerial Cancer Taskforce (2003-2004) and Bariatric working party (2008), Victorian Surgical Consultative Council (2011-2016) as well as the Tasmanian Department of Health working party on Bariatric Surgery (2009-2010).

Brooke Backman
Program Manager
Email: brooke.backman@monash.edu
Phone: 03 9903 0589

Dianne Brown BEc (Hons)
Consultant – Bariatric Surgery Registry
Email: med-bsr@monash.edu

Dr Jenifer Cottrell
Customer Relationship Manager
Email: jenifer.cottrell@monash.edu
Phone: 03 9903 0721

Aileen Heal
Data Manager
Email: aileen.heal@monash.edu
Phone:03 9903 0722

Srikanth Kommireddy
Database Manager
Email: srikanth.kommireddy@monash.edu
Phone: 03 9903 0672

Simone Wilkins
Administration Officer
Email: simone.wilkins@monash.edu.au
Phone: 03 9903 0725

Registry Staff Members:

Angus Brian Campbell
Data Support Officer
Email: angus.campbell@monash.edu

Henry Truong
Technical Officer – Data
Email: henry.truong@monash.edu

Jared Cox
Technical Officer - Data
Email: jared.cox@monash.edu

Declan Wain
Technical Officer - Data
Email: declan.wain@monash.edu

Rebecca Tourogianis
Technical Officer - Data
Email: rebecca.tourogianis@monash.edu

Jazz Padarath
Administration Assistant
Email: jazz.padarath@monash.edu

Hayley Cottrell
Administration Assistant
Email: hayley.cottrell@monash.edu

Roxana RuizGuevara
Administration Assistant
Email: roxana.ruizguevara@monash.edu

Nilab Hamidi
Administration Assistant – Ethics
Email: nilab.hamidi@monash.edu

Tiasha Fernando
Administration Assistant – Call Centre
Email: tiasha.fernando@monash.edu

Anagi Wickremasinghe
Administration Assistant – Call Centre
Email: anagi.wickremasinghe@monash.edu

Zahli Hansen
Administration Assistant – Call Centre
Email: zahli.hansen@monash.edu

PROMS Research:

Dr Roseanne Misajon
Senior Lecturer, Cairnmillar Institute
Email: roseanne.misajon@cairnmillar.edu.au

Steering Committee members:

Professor Ian Caterson, Chair
Foundation Director of the Boden Institute of Obesity Nutrition Exercise and Eating Disorders and Boden Professor of Human Nutrition at the University of Sydney
Professor Wendy Brown, Clinical Director
Head of Monash University Department of Surgery, Director of CORE, Centre for Obesity and Research Education, Clinical Lead for Bariatric Surgery Registry
Associate Professor Andrew MacCormick, New Zealand Clinical Lead
Australian and New Zealand Metabolic and Obesity Surgery Society (ANZMOSS) Representative, Surgeon
Professor John McNeil AO, Data Custodian
Epidemiologist & former Head of the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University
Associate Professor Susannah Ahern
Head, Registry Sciences and Research, Monash University
Dr Samuel Baker
Australia and New Zealand Metabolic and Obesity Surgery Society (ANZMOSS) Representative, Surgeon
Dr Meron Pitcher
Independent Royal College of Surgeons (RACS) Representative
Professor Neil Merrett
Australia and New Zealand Gastric & Oesophageal Surgery Association (ANZGOSA) Representative
Professor Chris Bullen
Director, National Institute for Health Innovation (NIHI)
Associate Professor Arul Earnest
Senior Biostatistician, Registry Sciences Unit Monash University

Ms Corinna Musgrave
Community Representative

 
Ex-Officio Members:
Ms Brooke Backman – Bariatric Surgery Registry Program Manager
Dr Ingrid Hopper – Head Drug and Devices Registries Monash University
Ms Breanna Pellegrini – Data Analyst Registry Science and Research Monash University
Dr Jenifer Cottrell – Bariatric Surgery Registry Customer Relationships Manager
Mr Srikanth Kommireddy – Bariatric Surgery Registry Database Manager
Ms Aileen Heal – Bariatric Surgery Registry Data Manager