Our staff

Professor Wendy Brown MBBS (Hons), PhD, FRACS, FACS
Head, Monash University Department of Surgery
Director, Centre for Obesity Research and Education (CORE)
Clinical Lead, Bariatric Surgery Registry
Email: wendy.brown@monash.edu

Professor Wendy Brown was the first woman to be appointed Chair of the Monash University Department of Surgery in 2015.She is also the Director of the Centre for Obesity Research and Education (CORE) and Clinical Lead for the National Bariatric Surgery Registry and the Victorian Upper GI Cancer Registry.

Professor Brown's areas of expertise include bariatric and upper gastrointestinal surgery, including cancer and reflux disease.Her research focuses on optimally managing the chronic disease of obesity and measuring the effects of weight loss on health, quality of life and survival. She has led the development of the Bi-national Bariatric Surgery Registry obtaining funding for the pilot and roll out. The aim of the Registry is to capture all bariatric procedures across Australia and New Zealand and track the outcomes (weight, diabetes status and need for re-operation) longitudinally for 10 years. She has published over 60 peer reviewed papers and has been invited to speak at over 70 National and International conferences.

Professor Brown serves the broader medical community in a wide variety of roles. She is president elect of the Australia & New Zealand Gastro Oesophageal Surgery Association and immediate past president of the Obesity Surgery Society of Australia and New Zealand. She is the senior examiner in the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) Court of General Surgery Examiners. She is Chair of the Avenue Hospital Human Research Ethics Committee, and member of their Medical Advisory Committee.She is the Scientific Chair of the International Federation for the Surgery of Obesity and Metabolic Disorders. She has been a chair and team member of Australian Medical Council assessment teams for undergraduate programs and is a member of the RACS board in Surgical Research. She has previously been a member of the Victorian State Ministerial Cancer Taskforce (2003-2004) and Bariatric working party (2008), Victorian Surgical Consultative Council (2011-2016) as well as the Tasmanian Department of Health working party on Bariatric Surgery (2009-2010).

Dianne Brown BEc (Hons)
Consultant – Bariatric Surgery Registry
Email: med-bsr@monash.edu

Dianne is currently acting as the business manager for the Bariatric Surgery Registry. Dianne has worked as a management consultant, specializing in strategy, for 20 years in Australia, Asia and Europe. She has worked with some of the world's largest banks, manufacturers and service companies in the areas of costing, strategic marketing, portfolio analysis and market entry strategy.

More recently Dianne has been involved with not-for-profits and public institutions in the areas of education, publishing, welfare provision and health. At the BSR, Dianne's key responsibility is to develop a business model that will sustain the registry in the long term.

Dianne Brown BEc (Hons)
Consultant – Bariatric Surgery Registry
Email: dianne.brown@monash.edu

Brooke Backman
Programme Manager
Email: brooke.backman@monash.edu
Phone: 03 9903 0589

Aileen Heal
Data Manager
Email: aileen.heal@monash.edu
Phone:03 9903 0722

Jenifer Cottrell
Customer Relationship Manager
Email: jenifer.cottrell@monash.edu
Phone: 03 9903 0721

Simone Wilkins
Administration Officer
Email: simone.wilkins@monash.edu.au
Phone: 03 9903 0725

Srikanth Kommireddy
Database Manager
Email: srikanth.kommireddy@monash.edu
Phone: 03 9903 0672

Casual staff members:

Eddy Woldemareyam
Administration Assistant
Email: edomgenet.woldemareyam@monash.edu

Jazz Padarath
Administration Assistant
Email: jazmin.padarath@monash.edu

Nilab Hamidi
Administration Assistant – Call Centre
Email: nilab.hamidi@monash.edu

Seba Joseph
Administration Assistant
Email: Seba.joseph@monash.edu

Pari D'Cruz
Administration Assistant
Email: pari.dcruz@monash.edu

Henry Truong
Administration Assistant
Email: henry.truong@monash.edu

Tiasha Fernando
Admin Asst
Email: tiasha.fernando@monash.edu

Alexander Lukacaz
Technical Officer
Email: alexander.lukacz@monash.eud

Hayley Cottrell
Administration Assistant
Email: hayley.cottrell@monash.edu

PROMS Research:

Rose Anne Misajon
Senior Lecturer
Email: roseanne.misajon@cairnmillar.edu.au

Georgia Rush
Research Assistant
Email: georgia.rush@monash.edu

Jessica Robinson
Master of Clinical Psychology
Email: jessica.robinson@monash.edu

Michelle Ferguson
Master of Clinical Psychology
Email: michelle.ferguson@monash.edu

Oliver Waluk
Master of Clinical Psychology
Email: oliver.waluk@monash.edu

Steering Committee members:

Professor Ian Caterson
Foundation Director of the Boden Institute of Obesity Nutrition Exercise and Eating Disorders and Boden Professor of Human Nutrition at the University of Sydney

Professor Wendy Brown
Director of CORE, Centre for Obesity and Research Education – Clinical Lead, Bariatric Surgery Registry

Mr Andrew MacCormick
OSSANZ Representative – Surgeon

Associate Professor Mark Smithers
Australian & New Zealand Gastric & Oesophageal Surgery Association President

Dr Meron Pitcher
Independent RACS Representative

Professor John McNeil
Epidemiologist & Head of the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University

Professor Sue Evans
Executive Officer, CRE for Patient Safety, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University
Registry Custodian, Bariatric Surgery Registry


Ms Natasha Ryan
Medical Benefits Division, Department of Health

Ms Leeann Galloway
Medical Benefits Division, Department of Health

Ms Clare Poprawski
Medical Benefits Division, Department of Health

Ms Corinna Musgrave
Community Liasion