Collaborations and
Professional Contributions

Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group

A/Prof Zoe McQuilten is a member of the ALLG Scientific Advisory Committee and chair of the Supportive Care Disease Group. Prof Erica Wood, Dr Allison Mo and Dr Khaili Chai are members of the Supportive Care Disease Group.

Australian and New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion

Australian and New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion: ANZSBT is the professional society for transfusion medicine health professionals and researchers in Australia and New Zealand. Prof Erica Wood is former president of ANZSBT and a member of the ANZSBT Research Committee. She delivered the Ruth Sanger Oration in 2016. Dr Allison Mo is a member of the education standing committee. Dr Gemma Crighton is former president of ANZSBT, and Mrs Helen Haysom and Mr Neil Waters have recently served on the ANZSBT transfusion science and education standing committees, respectively.

Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative

Monash is an institutional member of BEST – an international network of excellence. A/Prof Rosemary Sparrow is an honorary member of BEST. A/Prof Zoe McQuilten delivered the prestigious invited Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture in 2017.

BioPRIA (Bioresource Processing Institute of Australia) at the Monash Department of Chemical Engineering

TRU researchers collaborated with the BioPRIA to develop a rapid test for COVID-19, modifying column agglutination technology used in transfusion laboratories worldwide.

Blood Matters

Blood Matters supports improved clinical transfusion practice, including implementation of clinical guidelines, state-wide audits, measures to reduce blood wastage, and haemovigilance. Prof Erica Wood is a founding member of Blood Matters and has served on the Blood Matters advisory committee and Serious Transfusion Incident Reporting (STIR) expert group.

Centre for Health Economics, Monash Business School

TRU collaborates with the CHE on the NHMRC Blood Synergy program, the MRFF-funded epidemiological modelling study of myeloma therapy, evaluating the impact of the PBM guidelines, government (e.g. MSAC) health economics analyses, and the cost of transfusion in thalassaemia (TRUSTT) studies.

International Collaboration for Transfusion Medicine Guidelines

ICTMG is an international network to develop evidence-based clinical guidelines to improve transfusion practice. Prof Erica Wood is a member of the ICTMG and its executive committee.

International Haemovigilance Network

Prof Erica Wood is past-president of IHN, a network of over 30 national and regional haemovigilance systems internationally.

International Society of Blood Transfusion

Many members of the TRU team are members of ISBT and participate in its working parties and activities. Prof Erica Wood is president of ISBT.

NHS Blood and Transplant, United Kingdom

Transfusion Outcomes Research Collaborative (TORC)

A partnership with the Australian Red Cross Blood Service. This collaboration, established in 2008, was central to the design and progress of pioneering transfusion research in Australia. TORC was overseen by a multidisciplinary steering committee chaired by Professor Merrole Cole-Sinclair of St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne. TORC's setting, combining access to transfusion medicine and research expertise, provided opportunities for medical specialists in training and future researchers to develop solid foundations in transfusion research methodologies.

World Health Organization

Prof Erica Wood is a member of the WHO expert advisory panel on blood transfusion and the anaemia guidelines development group.