Year 4C medicine

Year 4C placements

The Year 4C programs in both the south-east and north-west are taken up with the core clinical rotations of women’s health, children’s health, general practice and medicine of the mind. These long-term (full year) rural placements are undertaken through rural and regional hospitals, general practices and a wide range of community based centres and includes frequent patient contact.

South-east rural placements

Places in the south-east are open to students from the Central Medical School and graduate entry program.

Gippsland: Warragul and Traralgon

Students are based at a general practice in west, south or central Gippsland for the academic year. General practice plays a key integrating role both conceptually and in ongoing patient care.

The year is divided into specialty rotations for each of the four disciplines. Students undertake short-term intensive placements in each discipline at either Latrobe Regional Hospital in Traralgon or the West Gippsland Healthcare Group's hospital at Warragul.

See the Latrobe Valley and West Gippsland site for details of the program.

East Gippsland: Bairnsdale, Sale and Leongatha

This is a year-long integrated curriculum covering the four disciplines. Students are placed in pairs at general practices around east Gippsland for the academic year. They also undertake specialist training at local hospitals including Central Gippsland Health Service, Bairnsdale Regional Health Service, Orbost Regional Health and Omeo District Health. Students come together one or two days per week for tutorials.

The University provides accommodation for students on placement in these rural locations at a subsidised weekly rental. (See Student-related policies for details.)

See the East Gippsland site for details of the program.

North-west rural placements

Places in the north-west program are largely filled by Extended Rural Cohort students. A small number of places each year may be offered to students in other streams.

Integrated regional/rural program

Year 4C in the north-west integrates the four disciplines of children’s health, women’s health, medicine of the mind and general practice into a year-long program delivered in both regional and rural settings. All students are placed in a rural hub (Swan Hill, Kerang, Maryborough, Castlemaine, Woodend or Gisborne) for one semester and a regional hub (Mildura or Bendigo) for the other semester.

In the regional hubs students spend time with consultant specialists in their rooms and the Mildura Base or Bendigo Hospitals.

In the rural hubs students are based in a procedural general practice associated with the local hospital. They see many patients themselves under supervision.

Extended Rural Cohort students spend their regional semester with the regional clinical school at which they did not spend Year 3. All students spend the first week of each semester in Bendigo for an orientation or review program.


The Monash Rural Health Bendigo arranges short-term accommodation during the orientation and review weeks at the beginning of each semester for students who are not spending the semester in Bendigo. The University provides accommodation for students on placement in the north-west at a subsidised weekly rental. (See Student-related policies for details.)